Founder Friday — Meet Kurt from Amped Innovation

MiLA Capital
4 min readNov 11, 2016

--

#FounderFriday — Meet Kurt Kuhlmann, CEO of Amped Innovation, a San Jose, CA startup building a solar home power center that is affordable to the majority of the 1.2 billion people who lack access to electricity. Solution encompasses design, distribution, and finance.

THE BACKSTORY

What did you think you wanted to be when you were in HS?

Pilot. Hands down coolest thing to be. Move on to astronaut and then maybe space pirate or something still pilot-like but badass.

What did you study in college and what was your first job?

I started with physics and then moved into electrical engineering. My first real job was designing radar and weapon systems for Raytheon. Along with this came my first real sense of disillusionment. Weapons aren’t really my thing it seems.

What did you do in your previous life, prior to co-founding Amped Innovation?

Many things, including Applications support, engineering and then sales management. Outside of the large company space, I have spent 14 years running an engineering consulting firm, Meridian Design, mostly making products in LED lighting and outdoor products and managed to squeeze in starting a not-for-profit 501c3 (D-REV) specifically to develop products aimed at improving health and quality of life in the developing world. I have been unswervingly attracted to this sort of challenging product development ever since.

THE ENTREPRENEUR

What inspired you to start Amped Innovation?

Solving problems faced by the world extremely poor became a goal for me after I started mentoring teams from the Stanford Design for Extreme Affordability class. Before then I had not given much thought to it. I ended up designing the circuits for groups like Ignite Cosmos and then D.light. Having done so many designs and mentored so many groups (where I first met my partner in Amped, Andi Kleissner) we were convinced we could, with a small team, make an optimal power center/ solar lighting system design with far more capability and for far less money than anything else out there. And so we fired up the 3D printers and started laying out boards.

What has been your biggest challenge growing your company?

Early stage is very hard, specifically to raise money for. In my experience there is very little pre-seed money until a company is ready for full production and has 1000 units in the field and orders in hand. It’s a long slog to get to that point of course. And with hardware, there is no inexpensive path to that point.

What has been your biggest win?

We have managed to book a huge number of pre-orders (170K) for our system from distributors in the field. It certainly helps that we have done or been a key part of many successful dev-world products already, but it is still quite difficult to compete with incumbents who have established products when you are still in the handful-of-protoypes stage. We think it speaks to the keen need for a better/cheaper system that we have managed to generate so much interest so early. We feel validated anyway.

THE PERSON

When you’re not working on your company, how do you spend your time?

I have a few too many hobbies. I did manage to become a pilot so fly around the country when I have spare time or a sub 900 mile business trip. Archery is relatively new and where Andi and I essentially cooked up Amped innovation. Is still how we hold our board meetings. Hiking, scuba diving, astronomy when I want something quiet and dark to do. Kayaking but I hurt my shoulder awhile back so now my eskimo roll sucks.

Best place you’ve ever traveled to?

Na pali coast of Kuaui to Hanakapiai. Most awesome hike/camping I’ve ever done.

How would your mother describe your personality?

She was describe me as very warm and nice since she’s my mom. Privately she has said I was obstinate and extremely difficult to raise and had some doubts I would survive to see 25.

Your favorite get sh*t done quote —

I always wondered why somebody doesn’t do something about that. Then I realized I was somebody. -Lily Tomlin

Want more Amped Innovation?

Website

--

--

MiLA Capital

The SoCal epicenter of hardware entrepreneurship and innovation. Partnered w/ @ToolboxLA @NEOSolves #CSUN and @1111_ACC.