My Father Was a “Rolling Stone”

Manuel Martinez
2 min readMay 30, 2015

By Manuel J. Martinez

I am the son of a father who was never there. My father Julian Martinez once a kind and a shining star in this world faded away into addictions. He choose the fast lifestyle of drugs and promiscuity, rather then being a father and husband to my mother and I.

The man I never knew actually has made a profound difference in my life. Through his life example I have derived motivation to succeed and a roadmap of what not become. I love him for that and strive to carry on my life on the right path in his honor!

Believing in that all things happen for a reason I have a chance to learn from my dad and take his humanity in me and make a difference in this world. With pride I bear my dad’s name Julian as my middle name. I was blessed with a strong mother he taught me what a man should be or more importantly a man in touch with his humanity! For her I owe so much.

I feel if we can look at the wrongs of those who have hurt us and find the lesson in it, I know we can find peace and inspiration to become a better person! I hope my commentary inspires you to find lesson in the hurt and motivation to become better! “We are only strong as we let our selfs be.”

--

--