It has Been a Month: Where has AnyStream Gone

Marciana Vera
3 min readJul 8, 2024

--

It was not until I noticed my installed AnyStream software stopped working that I learned about its shutdown on the Internet. At first, I thought it was only temporary, just as a usual bug, which can happen to any downloading or recording software for streaming platforms. Yet, a month has passed, and there is no sign of coming back.

2 Years of Using Redfox AnyStream

I have been using AnyStream since July 2022. After the free trial, I decide to buy the video downloader to save streaming videos on Amazon Prime Video, Netflix, Disney Plus, etc.

Though sometimes it may not work well, which I guess is related to the DRM updates of some platforms, it helps me a lot in general.

I like to download the videos for binge-watching. The feeling of using the whole afternoon or the whole night to finish a season of episodes is wonderful. And I believe that’s why many movie lovers use video downloaders or recorders even if they have subscriptions to streaming services.

The longest not-working period must be the one caused by the Netflix DRM restriction. AnyStream seems not able to bypass this limitation. Though I feel a bit disappointed, I still use it for downloading videos on other platforms.

Yet, it all changed when I found I could not connect to the streaming website using AnyStream for more than a week. As I searched for solutions on the Internet, I finally realized it had stopped working. Discussions on Reddit think that it won’t recover.

I was still waiting for an official announcement. But one month has passed; I think this is a goodbye this time.

Possible Reasons for Redfox AnyStream’s Shutdown

As I mentioned before, on Reddit, users guessed that it is because the Redfox company was having trouble with its provider of services. Tough negotiation was made. Unluckily and clearly, the result is not what was expected.

Currently, the Redfox AnyStream’s official website and forum are not accessible, and the customer service has closed. Writing emails to report or to complain is also futile. This is serious, meaning that this shutdown could be a real one. That’s also why I feel more confident to say things are over now, after a month since it stopped providing services.

The last thing I felt a bit lucky about is that my 2-year subscription is also about to close in July 2024, which means I get my pennies back, basically.

Can I find an AnyStream Alternative?

About 2 weeks after I learned about the news, I began searching for better alternatives to Redfox AnyStream. Then I found StreamFab, whose name is mentioned the most times. I then installed it on my PC for a 30-day free trial, experiencing all platforms it supports.

StreamFab seems to support many more sites than AnyStream and contains all the features of AnyStream. It also develops its distinguished features such as auto-download: downloading videos automatically once you set a time schedule for the targeted channels.

I also noticed that it has more access to major streaming websites in Japan, such as FOD, TVer, Abema, and DMM. Though I seldom browse on Japanese websites, it might be a new chance for those who want to explore for more.

I am still hesitating on whether to buy the yearly plan or the lifetime version of StreamFab. Choosing StreamFab MyCombo or directly going for the StreamFab All-In-One is also under my consideration. The latter one says it has access to more than 40 major streaming services and can download videos on 1000+ streaming sites, wow — I am not sure I can cover all the services it supports.

In short, AnyStream seems to be gone forever. It is sad news for its loyal users, but it’s time to move on. No matter whether you have found better AnyStream alternatives or not, I think the time of AnyStream is truly over. Focus should be given to other products such as StreamFab I am trying now or the one you are using.

--

--