Lessons Learned: Going 0 to 100 really quick

Marcus Lee
3 min readJul 6, 2018

--

So I’ve owned a car for a total of two days now.

This is my first car.

The first time I didn’t need to call an Uber/Lyft, rely on my friends, or utilize public transportation. For once, I could actually wherever I want, when I want.

So you bet these past two days I put HELLA mileage on my car.

Yesterday was an especially eye opening experience as a driver. Driving all day, with passengers in the car, cruising 80 down the 101 and the 405, and then at night with the full delirium of exhaustion that sets on because you’re just trying to live and get home in one piece.

So today, I wanted to share some of the things I’ve learned as a newfound driver, especially for my peers who will eventually need to get their own car.

Lesson 1: Your friends and family will be there for you.

Without a doubt, if it weren’t for my friends who helped me learn how to handle a car, watch out for traffic/people/lights/literally anything, and call me out on my bad habits, I wouldn’t have even gotten a car out of an empty parking lot. And my family, lucky me, was there with me through and through when it came to navigating car options, insurance, financing, and all the other whacky adult financial stuff that comes with buying a car. It was nothing but a massive headache, but not it’s over and I can be wherever, for whoever. Especially those closest to me.

Lesson 2: Patience is key.

The key to driving in a hurtling metal box next to other hurtling metal boxes is to drive predictably. You’ll be more predictable when you make slow changes to speed, signal all your turns, and stay hyper-aware of everything that’s happening outside.

At first this is exhausting. It feels like you’re being bombarded with a million variables on ways that things can go wrong and who will be pissed at you and what the guy tailgating you because you drive slow is thinking. Don’t worry about that. Just breathe, take it slow, and stay comfortable. I like meditating to mentally prepare myself for the day: I would take that practice and apply it to the car. Listen to yourself and what you need to safely make it through a drive. I blast music depending on how much energy I need to boost myself, and I leave coffee in the car. Here, it’s literally more about the journey than the destination; if you ignore the journey, you might not get to your destination. Food for thought.

bonus lesson: GET A HANDS FREE HOLDER FOR YOUR PHONE

If you’re like me at all, you’ll rely on your phone for basically anything and everything you need to survive, especially navigating roads and finding places to go in a new area. So unless you have psychic powers or bought a paper map that’s probably outdated anyway, you’re checking your phone regardless. And if you’re checking your phone in the car, you should get a hands-free holder so that you’re not looking away from the road or your surroundings. Do it for everyone’s sake. Thank you. :)

(alternatively, learn the roads in your area and don’t use your phone while driving. simple)

Lesson 3: Enjoy the ride.

I don’t think there’s quite a site as watching the sunset as you drive down a highway, and then the flow of car lights in late night traffic. Feels like a moving, breathing city. I love it.

If you remember these pointers, hopefully it will making your driving experience more enjoyable, especially as you get used to your car. People say that they feel their car is a part of them, an extension of their body, a portion of their identity, and now that I drive more, I’m inclined to agree.

Thank you for reading! If you liked it, give some claps and follow me here and on Twitter! Leave some comments and let me know what you think! And have a great weekend! :)

--

--

Marcus Lee

I'm a semi-international software engineer, gamer, streamer, traveler, foodie, and music festival headliner. Crafting my writing and presentation skills.