The Last Time I Was Mothered

Margit Novack
Margit Novack
Published in
4 min readMay 8, 2016

--

I don’t understand mid-life orphans. They complain about caregiving responsibilities and then, when their parents pass away, they lament about being orphans. They say they feel bereft, unmoored, devastated by life without parents. Don’t they realize how lucky they are? Having elderly parents is a privilege some of us never had.

If you’re a mid-life orphan, you’ve had the pleasure of parents for most of your adult life. You danced with your father at your wedding, you shared your joy with them when your children were born. You were able to show them the person you’ve become, and your children were able to know their grandparents. As your parents aged, you were able to return the nurturing and love they gave you. Instead of mourning the loss of your parents, you should be glad for the time you had with them.

I became an orphan when I was young. My dad died when I was 7 and my mom, when I was 26. I grew up in the 50s and 60s, when hardly anyone was divorced. I didn’t know anyone besides me who didn’t have two parents.

I was 24 when I learned my mother was dying. I was devastated. For months, I mourned the life events we would…

--

--

Margit Novack
Margit Novack

Founded @MoveSolver, @eSMMART, @NASMM. Senior Moving Pioneer. Breast Cancer SURVIVOR, 7x 3-Day Walker/Volunteer. Wife. (Grand)Mother. @MargitNovack🐦