5 Reasons that explain why I hate millennials*

Mariana
3 min readMar 2, 2016

--

First of all I want to say that I am right. Whether you agree with me or not. Everything that I put forth here is based on scientific evidence and is not in any way influenced by my subjectivity or emotions.

The truth is I hate millennials. I hate the reports about millennials. I hate the insight about millennials. Above all, I hate with inextinguishable energy, the creative briefs whose sole target are millennials.

I have been carrying out my daily job with millennials for several years with dignity and pride. Years. Questions. Proactivity. Porposals. A titanic effort on my part, for my head only understands Kant reasoning.

Here the reasons why I hate millennials. I had to carry out an extreme exercise to synthesize the 1985 reasons (that I have studied and documented profoundly) in just 5:

1.- They believe it is completely valid and enriching to change their minds as many times as necessary.

¿Really? Ones word is sacred. If at 5 years old you declared you wanted to be a nurse, you have to keep your word, commit. Please be serious. It turns out that now it is very exciting to follow your heart and to be in sync with your intuition. To realize that we are multifunctional beings. And to know that the more skills we develop, the more we can contribute to the world and increase our probabilities of being happy. Growth, happiness, adventure. Enough.

2.- They assure that all areas of knowledge can be mixed and integrated.

Life isn’t a bartending mixology course. An experimental psychology teacher who I remember fondly once said to us: “eclecticism doesn’t exist, the eclectic person is an epileptic”.

Ah, but not so. Now you can be an astrophysisist and a chef. Developer and a yoga teacher. There are more yoga teachers than stars in the sky. Also it turns out that it is important to explore new areas of personal fulfillment and to have a day filled with different experiences. Avoid spending 10 hours a day in an office as much as possible. Work from different places and assume a sense of freedom. It’s absurd.

3.- They think that a professional career is a spiral staircase.

Of course not. When you are 23 years old you have to start going up a long and straight ladder till you are 65, when you retire and your life becomes a peaceful vegetative existence.

Now what we are seeing is that a career can be redesigned every two or three years, that possibilities are huge and that we can stretch our spirits and our brains in many areas that interest us and work in what you like till your 85. And, something inconceivable, there is no retirement or pensions. We have to live in the here and now, and not invest all our present in a far and uncertain future.

4.- They propose that leadership is attained by talent and not age or experience.

Sure. How easy. I have been breaking my back in my career for years and now it turns out that yes, very intelligent and capable, but guess what: you’re going to have a 25 year old boss who is a genius. Let’s respect the order in line people.

But no. Leadership is now flexible, organic, based on civic and global values, focused on human development and ideas and not on a collection of ties.

5.- They argue that success is measured by personal fulfillment and a sense of collaboration, and not only by money.

So you don’t have an account for your pension. Very good.

Success is not about having a bank account, a house, a dog, two cars, and a Costco membership card. Neither is it ascending a ladder and being named at last “chief coordinator II of integrated operative systems”.

The third metric of success. It´s not money. It´s not power. Arianna Huffington: you are not a millennial. What are you talking about? “Success is wellbeing, wisdom and wonder”. Having wellbeing, trusting your wisdom and being marveled by life. Ok. We’re getting better.

My sister, whom I am half a generation older, and of course is a millennial, shouted at me euphorically:

-“You have seen Girls right?

-(with indifference) “one chapter”

-¿WHAT? ¿WHY?!! Its like Sex and the City, but cool.

This is as far as we may go. It’s one thing to question all the modern values of our society, and a very different thing to make fun of Sex and the City. Bye.



*with love to all the millenials that make my life happily uncomfortable: thank you for the challenge ;)

--

--

Mariana

Some years in advertising (as a planner) lead me to become a therapist. Now I understand. Still naive with twitter but having a lot of fun.