Marisa Porter
2 min readApr 26, 2017

--

What boring and disappointing search results. The image search results jarred/disappointed me, which indicates that my mind is not filled with images of white men in ties, but with women in hijabs and racially and gender diverse people. Now where do I get these images from? Probably reality + my imagination. I long for diversity, so I envision it. I think the only takeaway from this is that if we teach our children through values and literature what the world should be like, they are more likely to build it for themselves. The second observation I had was that shutterstock searches I did in comparison were a little better, maybe by about 10%. But that’s not saying much. And the third thought I had was that I don’t know how this could reflect what people want to find in a google image search, or a shutterstock image search (but apparently it does), because every place I have ever worked in or worked for demands diversity in imagery. It’s hard to find. You have to put the specific words describing what you want to see in the search, like “African-American woman looking confident with briefcase”, etc. If everyone wants to see more diversity in imagery, why are the stock and search engine results not serving up what people are trying so hard to find? Or am I surrounded by a very under-represented group of people? This was a very interesting read and brings up a lot of questions. Thanks for sticking up for the white males, by the way. So many do feel a lot of pain from this. Oh, one more thing. I was once part of a study and debate analyzing the marketing materials of a certain school. For some reason, the students who won the debate held that the college was over-representing diversity and this was deceitful, like saying they had a golf course when they didn’t. As silly as this seems to me and as much as I disagree (my opinion was that it would invite diversity), I thought about it when I read this.

--

--

Marisa Porter

The trouble with the world is that people don't read enough.