The Uniqueness of the Black Job Seeker Experience

What kind of challenges do Black people have in the job market?

Mark Anthony Dyson
37 min readJan 26, 2021

A few months ago, my friend and colleague Jack Kelly asked me to come on his podcast to talk about the job search for Black Professionals. I transcribed the interview so you can read preferably or listen. I had a few things to say, and this was a perfect place to say them.

Mark Anthony Dyson:

I think job seekers have to learn to do that when it doesn’t seem like somebody is paying attention. People, especially these days on social and if you’re regular social, somebody will be paying attention and looking at you be resilient and that’s something that employers love these days. They love somebody who’s resilient, who can wait through the criticism and wait through the silence and be able to push through.

Jack Kelly:

Actually, Mark, I think a lot of people listen and watch this because, in our Wednesday calls, I think we go over a lot of career-oriented material about job advice, actual advice, but we have a kind of a loose jocular feel, this I think is maybe a little different because it’s a pretty serious matter. Reading a lot of your writing in medium and other places, and listening to your interview on NPR, you talk a lot about race in the workplace…

--

--

Mark Anthony Dyson

Career Advice Writer🌟 "The Voice of Job Seekers" | "The Job Scam Report" | Lensa.com Contributor | 🔥Feat. Forbes | Fast Company | Entrepreneur Mag. | NPR