Inbound 2017 — A Hubspot Event

Will Haire
2 min readSep 26, 2017

--

Today I attended the annual Inbound 2017 conference in Boston. Due to my crazy work schedule, I was only able to attend one day at the conference. I made sure the day I attended was the day that Brian Halligan & Dharmesh Shah were speaking. Brian and Dharmesh are the founders of Hubspot. I try to go every year and these guys really have their pulse on the future of marketing and CRM systems.

I currently use Hubspot’s Sales CRM. It’s a great basic CRM system, and it’s free. You really can’t beat it when you are bootstrapping. What I took away from this conference is that we are still largely focused on making life easy from a customer perspective. DELIGHT your customer at every touchpoint… There you go, just saved you a week of conferences. :) They are now implementing chat features, Artificial Intelligence (AI) and a bunch of other add-ons into their free CRM. I believe this is the end of an error of Web based digital marketers. The shift from web searches to a more personalized approach targeting messengers and chats is going to be a strong acquisition channel for marketers to work on starting now.

At the event, I ran into the Checkmate crew; Don Tirea, Client Relationship manager and Steve Rado, Project Manager.

Me on the Left, Don in the Middle and Steve on the right

I also Ran into Eleanor Hong of LE Brands. Eleanor does a lot of Digital Marketing work for media based businesses and is right now working on a pretty cool VR project called Orpheus. Great to connect with motivated professionals!

After a long day of conferences I always have time for a picture :P

Overall, great conference. Most importantly, the conference is free. I try to attend a variety of conferences to stay on top of trends. I also go for free T-shirts… Yes, that’s right. My goal is to never pay for another T-shirt. Since 2015, I’ve only worn T-shirts that I receive from attending events. Thanks to companies like Leadpages, Spyfu, SEM Rush and Square 2 Marketing. I am good for another few months.

Have you attended any great events this year?

--

--