Design Process of Building an App — User Research (1/5)

Martin Bing
2 min readJan 5, 2019

--

This is the first of my 5 steps to designing an app. Although the design process might vary from budget and used case, throughout my experiences I have noticed this pattern works for 80% of the cases. If you don’t get enough budget, then you shouldn’t do it.

You don’t want to do half work and if you’re good at something, you should get paid! The other 20% I am not going to talk about are cases where I needed to adapt the existing design. Feel free to contact me about more info or any questions.

In my example I will show you how I set up the process and make sure clients can help me along the way iso blocking the process. If you would like more details about these steps, be sure to let me know!

1 Style Tile:

So I always start with a style tile, this is just to set up the fundamentals of the website,

what color, font etc will be used, if you have a logo or an idea about the font/colors you

would like to include, let me know.

2 Wireframes/Mockups

After this is done, I will start with the mockups/wireframe of the website, where to put the

logo, content, menus etc.. This will give you a quick and nice overview of what it all will

look like.

3 Creation of the theme

The wireframe and style tile become one theme. We have the layout stuff from the style tile combined with

the structure of the wireframe/mockup. So at this stage you can still put up changes, but if all went well, it

will go smooth and quickly.

4 Integration with WordPress/Backoffice and publishing it online

Then comes the integration with WordPress (the CMS/backend service I will use, which has a database

and all necessary stuff to make it easier for you to work on the content later.) Here I will also put it all online

with a domain name you provided me and hosting (space on the web).

5 Provide the logins and finish it all up

After it is all online, then I will provide you with 2 logins, one is administrator which is capable of changing all that you

possibly can change. And then 1 which is just to change content and basic stuff, so I would suggest

to use that one most of the time. This will only show the basic backoffice layout, so you are not overwhelmed

by too much info which you aren’t going to use anyway.

--

--

Martin Bing

Making sure design and data tell the same story & create some pictures once a while. Instructor & Mentor @Thinkful. #UX | #UI | #AngularJS | #ReactJS | #NodeJS