Martin Malzahn
1 min readMar 9, 2017

--

Hi Victor, thanks! Keith and I are new at podcasting. Your encouragement is appreciated. We both agree that this was a dark episode. Much of the series is haunting too. Yes, there are other shows (with vampires!) that are also dark. However, there’s a quality of magical realism that appeals to us in The OA.

I like the fact that the main action of the show is story telling. I also like the series continual focus on the body…these qualities pull me back and forth between story and material. This means that though I’m also of two minds about the open door (agreed, it’s an odd request that sets itself up for a resolution we haven’t gotten — who or what goes in and out of the door?) I’m inclined to think that the door is a portal that may be metaphysical or maybe material (just a door).

There’s a quirky story about Carl Jung who builds a physical structure as a way to access his interior life. I’m less invested in knowing how this reality works than acknowledging that it does.

What are the facets of the show that appeal to you?

--

--

Martin Malzahn

Chaplain & Director of the Center for Religion and Spirituality at Wagner College. Finds power in poetry, cinema, & the practice of faith.