Martina Píšová
2 min readMay 22, 2015

--

It is known that the “suppression” is a very important function of our brains. Every time we see something cruel, painful or sad which could cause a stress to us, we start to think about something else — about more comfortable things which distract us. Subconsciously.

Worse, when the problem is not outer, but inner. It is into us, rooted in our minds. Then, there is not escape. Some people think it is possible to escape their inner problems through alcohol or drugs, but it is just a little “distraction”, with a really bad consequences extra. We should not judge them — we should try to help them, because they don't know how to really solve their problems.

Meditation. That's the way. While we suppress our problems, while we are not able to admit them and while don't know how to “feel” them, we will never be able to face them.

Sometimes I have a problems, such as every person does. And there is only one thing about these problems I am not able to stand: the feeling that I can do nothing immediately. Powerlessness drives me crazy. Then, there is only one thing I can do to calm myself, find inner peace and strength to wait until I can do something really worthy to solve the problem. And this is why I meditate. Because I believe in wisdom of my unconscious mind.

Silence is underrated power in our hectic lives. As a restless person I have been looking for inner peace for a very long time and I think I will need more to really find it. But everything is about the way, not about the goal, so in this moment, the important thing is I am still trying to reach it. Namely, my character is like water. Maybe I am able to get everywhere and to be calm as well as to be destructive, but the truth is, I can't see anything in the depth of my mind while its surface is lumpy.

So I think if more people find the serenity of the silence, the world we live in will be a better place for everyone.

I am very grateful to you, Artie, for you help the people with it.

--

--

Martina Píšová

Central European village damsel with nose for big stories and 150 cm/4′ 12″ hair long to tangle them.