Dear Heath Ledger

Mary Schafer
2 min readMay 24, 2017

--

Heath Ledger

Dear Heath Ledger,

The last few petals fell off the magnolia tree today. It was easy for them. They drifted away into the wind so effortlessly, as if they wanted to be free. It sounds ridiculous, but I am envious of those petals. I would give anything to have the spring wind take me somewhere else. Somewhere far away. He broke up with me today. It was too easy for him. He couldn’t get away from me fast enough. I know something is not right with me. I’ve been broken inside for too long. I just didn’t think he would see it too.

I always dreamed he would stitch my broken pieces back together with love and understanding. Someone so strong and capable should have been able to fight my anxiety away. I can’t say I blame him for leaving. It’s hard to be around someone so fragile. I should know. My mom has never been like other moms. She cries when I smile at her. She cleans the house at 3:00 am. She talks to the robins before the fly away to their nests at dusk.

I understand why you took so many drugs. You needed an outlet for your pain. I think I am like you in that way. Your emotions got the best of you, so you made bad decisions. You thought the pills and potions would erase the feelings of anxiety. You convinced yourself that the clouds of marijuana smoke would carry away your sorrows. I’ve tried it. It doesn’t work.

Yours,

Alice

--

--