My Journey of Ethical Hacking (Part 1)

Mashaal Shahid
3 min readSep 28, 2021

--

Rooted person!

Sounds cool.

When technology started to come into our house I was a kid. Technologies include mobile devices, laptops, and computers. There was a lot of emphasis on playing games and becoming an expert in them. At that time I used to play the game SUBWAY SURFER. It had a global ranking, people used to hack it to become a top player in the world. Then at the age of 11, I got introduced to social media platforms, firstly Facebook then Instagram, and further on….

After learning about it, my priority was to be protected on social media. At that time, I knew just the word “HACKING” and nothing else about it, but I loved this word and wanted to be a hacker. At that time, I thought that hacking was cracking Facebook and Instagram passwords. Then time passed.

A few years later

The hype was created for the game PUBG. I started playing it and loved it then hackers were introduced to it. They tried to use hacks in a worldwide tournament and got banned. But as long as your intentions are not bad, I think it’s OK!

I asked many people to teach me hacking or just one thing anyone knows but;

No one will help you until you work on your own

Then I started researching Google and YouTube. There was a story of an Indian hacker through which I got inspired a lot;

“When I started hacking, sometimes I slept after one week and sometimes after two weeks”

I was shocked to learn that hacking is not an easy or simple thing. A variety of skills, languages, tools, and specific devices are required to do it. I don’t have a grip on any of the computer languages.

Still, if I lose hope! I would never achieve my dreams. I’m trying to learn about its tools and languages.

Was working on windows and wanted to install KALI LINUX. But I also have some “Normal User” work to do so I started using Kali Linux on a Virtual machine. My life is too busy to practice it for a long time in a day. From this an example came to my mind, the race between turtle and rabbit. If I did not stop one day I would achieve my goals….

As a Windows user, it was difficult for me to use Kali as its interface is a bit different and difficult. I first started learning Linux, its commands, tools, and then the hacking process.

At the moment, I don’t have a grip on any of the computer languages. However, if I need to learn any language, I am willing to learn and implement it.

Now that I have downloaded and installed some of its tools, I am noticing the low storage space as well. This means that I would have to fix it in a shorter amount of time.

Additionally, if you do not know what a virtual machine or virtual box is, you can CHECK! My virtual machine article. Virtual Machine

This was my journey of hacking until April 2022. It will be updated with further improvements in the next article and the whole journey will be shared with everyone.

--

--