Learning Stoicism from non-Stoics

Figs in Winter
Lotus Fruit
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2020

--

I have been practicing Stoicism seriously for five years now, I know a lot about the theory, I’ve read pretty much all the available ancient texts and a good number of the modern ones. And I’ve written two books about it. Oh, and of course I practice every day.

Nevertheless, recently I’ve learned something importantly Stoic from a non-Stoic acquaintance of mine. In fact, twice, from two different people. I’m trying my best to implement their advice, which in both cases is perfectly consistent with this quote from Epictetus, unknown, so far as I can tell, to both people in question:

“Everything has two handles: one by which it may be borne, another by which it cannot. If your brother acts unjustly, do not lay hold on the affair by the handle of his injustice, for by that it cannot be borne, but rather by the opposite — that he is your brother, that he was brought up with you; and thus you will lay hold on it as it is to be borne.” (Enchiridion 43)

The first instance concerned a close relative of mine, R., with whom relations have been tense for several years, to the point that we hardly spoke…

--

--

Figs in Winter
Lotus Fruit

by Massimo Pigliucci. New Stoicism and Beyond. Entirely AI free.