Stoic advice: what do I do with my rage at the injustice I am witnessing?

--

Protests in Union Square, New York

M. writes: I’m a 27 year old, lesbian, African American woman, so I’m used to being the minority in every aspect. Even so, I still face daily struggles that do seem overwhelming at times. Stoicism of course helps me keep my negative emotions at bay. In times like these though, with so much inequality when it comes to my people (whether it’s people of color, LGBTQ+, or women), how do I make a difference and support what I believe in without being overtaken with rage when I see the things being done to us? I know Stoics were very active in politics, but how can I feel like what I do politically matters when their President is encouraging the military to fire on those who only seek justice? I guess I’m just in a very disheartening place and I would appreciate any modern, practical Stoic advice you’d have for me.

I am contemplating how to respond to this after having seen the police arresting some protesters literally in front of my apartment building in downtown Brooklyn last night. My wife and I are watching and reading the news aghast at what is happening, most certainly not for the first time in the history of the United States. And yeah, President Trump is most definitely not helping. Moreover, you are absolutely correct that the sort of injustice we are talking about, directed at black people, women, and LGBTQ+, is…

--

--