Failure necessary for success?

The Master Philosopher©️
3 min readMar 20, 2016

--

Are failures necessary? Should we embrace them?

Well…yes and no. Say you failed your exam (shoutout to the college students). By failing that one test you realized your weaknesses, areas of needed improvement. To have an unexpected outcome is often a blessing in disguise. Because you performed poorly, you now have to work harder to understand concepts. By failing, you are in fact succeeding, to an extent. You are shining a light on truth, which is NEVER without purpose or reason. By passing, and doing well on that exam you are also succeeding! It’s a WIN/WIN scenario. Congratulations, you have demonstrated your proficiency and grasp of said topic…so we think. But do you really know it inside and out?

There is this false belief said that when you get A’s it means you are smart. Not always the case. There are many different types of intelligence available for our brains to absorb. Knowledge is best put to use through application, trying it out for yourself. Getting down n’ dirty, in the weeds, in the thick of it, ah you known what I mean! Reading, studying, and thinking certainly have their place. But ‘to do’ is the icing on the delicious/fudgy knowledge cake. It’s been my experience that until I actually physically use hands and other senses to learn, I do not fully conceptualize a topic as well. But what if you are studying something that cannot be physically touched with any tangible result? INGRAIN it in part of you *(See bottom of page for more detail)

Here are some tips to help ingrain knowledge into your being:
1. Watch documentaries
2. Practice empathy (feel what that author, artist, engineer, scientist, whomever felt)
3. Picture yourself in their situation (Ask the question of , ‘What would I do?’)
4. Repetition, repetition, repetition (enough said).
5. Quiz your brain! Ask yourself questions about what you’ve just learned.
6. Teach others what you’ve learned. (Especially helped me while taking Anatomy & Physiology)

As I have evolved in the developing study habits, I’ve often asked others how they study. People mostly say similar things…but I have been enlightened by one study method that takes the cake!

Are you ready?! Do you want to know?

This will change your life, as it has changed mine!

Hence we have…”The Pomodoro Technique

Here what it’s about:

I’ve heard students say countless times say, “Oh yeah I studied for 8 hours” Really? You studied constantly for eight hours straight…I call bullshit. Study time is about QUALITY not QUANTITY. Out of that period of time, I’m guessing only a portion of it was spent in a concentrated & focused manner. The other bit most likely was devoted to checking Facebook, Instagram, or other various social media outlets. The Pomodoro Technique is sure to help you on your journey of change.

*Have you ever noticed that the classes where you were actively involved in yielded more long-lasting knowledge? I have. Do you know why? Those teachers/professors asked you questions, kept you on your toes. Actively engaged. This is not a secret. Whether you got the answer correct or not wasn’t always the point, not just yet. They INTENTIONALLY want you to think, they know its power. So practice the same with yourself when you are learning by yourself or in a group.

NOTE TO SELF/READER: I am going to try out taking more notes as I read. Yes, this is likely to take up more time and energy. But I’m willing to bet the learning I engage in will have a far greater effect with my depth of knowledge. Keep yourself accountable, I am no exception! Try it out, let me know if you’ve had results. Works with me when I read for pleasure, so why not in academics?

Try One Class:

Save time, get course notes, study guides, and resources for your courses. Here’s the link…

If you like this post make sure to press the heart below and share to others!

--

--

The Master Philosopher©️

Writing Magician✍🏽 ∞ Thought Leader💭 Philosopher𓂀🧿 Intuitive Teacher🔮 Philosophically Enlightening Minds✨ Sharing Universal Truth-Wisdom🌍