Ever wonder about all those non-venture backed businesses? You know, with profits and revenues? This is my new podcast.

Matt Hartman
2 min readDec 18, 2015

--

In tech startup culture, it’s easy to fetishize fast-scaling venture-backed companies. However, less than 1% of businesses in the US are funded by venture capital firms. How did all those other businesses get started? How do they work? What problems do they face? They fuel our economy and we interact with their products so frequently that we sometimes forget that each began with someone taking a leap of faith that this could work, just like in the tech world.

In my new podcast, I interview a furniture manufacturer whose first corporate customer was the Four Seasons; a wine maker whose wine was just ranked in the top 100 in the world; the producer of a hit broadway show; a company that operated for 28 years before being acquired; and the owner of a gift shop that has become an institution in Washington, DC.

the cover art for my new podcast. subscribe at http://dybpodcast.com

I’m calling the podcast Doing Your Business, with Matt Hartman. It’s part experiment to learn about podcasting and different businesses, and part fun since I admit I enjoyed these conversations.

I just posted the official podcast trailer on Product Hunt. If you’re interested, please check it out here: https://www.producthunt.com/podcasts/doing-your-business-with-matt-hartman-season-1-preview

dybpodcast.com has links to subscribe in iTunes, overcast, and the direct RSS feed. I hope you enjoy it!

--

--