Using all social media platforms?

Matthias Mazur
3 min readAug 30, 2015

--

You need to adopt platforms early. Obviously, we can’t go back in time, but you want to be a first mover.

You want to adopt platforms as early as possible. I haven’t moved fast enough on some platforms, but on others I literally signed up in the first few days.

There are other platforms where I waited and I regretted waiting. If I had understood 10 years ago what I know now, I could have had way more impact and made a lot more exposure.

I could have made a lot more money and have a lot more influence if I had been one of the first few people in Europe to sign up on Facebook or Twitter.

Today, that’s what I’m doing, because I’m a very quick mover. I like to play a lot with all these platforms and you can find me on any social media platform like Pinterest, Vine, Snapchat, Instagram, Tumblr, Medium and Beem. Beem just came out two weeks ago.

I have an account and I was one of the first to sign up on it, because I signed up on day one. You need to be a first mover for several reasons:

If you’re the first one to ride, you can actually get the username you want. If your name is John Smith, chances are, all of the social media handles are taken.

But if your name is John Smith and you were one of the first ones on earth to get on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat, you would have had @johnsmith everywhere. I’m pretty sure you don’t have a chance to have that handle today.

The first people who move can choose their usernames. On Twitter if you are called “John Smith” for example and then on Facebook you’re called “the fitness lover” and then on Instagram you’re called “photography hero” and you have different usernames for every platform, where’s the consistency in branding? You need to have consistency.

Take me for example. On some platforms I’m Matthias Mazur, on some platforms I’m Matt Mazur. On Twitter, I’m @mattmazur. On Instagram, I’m on Matthias Mazur. On Snapchat, I’m on Matthias Mazur.

On Facebook, I’m Matthias Mazur, because I was the first. I actually want to have Matthias Mazur as the brand.

I signed up very early on Twitter. I could have had Matthias Mazur, but I went for Matt Mazur which is a mistake.

I should have gone with Matthias, but I can’t go back because now Matthias Mazur on Twitter is already taken.

Facebook video is exploding now and they’ve actually taken over YouTube. It’s tough to get the exact stats of how many people actually finish videos on Facebook versus YouTube, but Facebook has outgrown YouTube and their mission is to destroy it.

If you do some research, Facebook video is huge now, so use it.

Snapchat is one of the fastest growing social media platforms at the moment. You have to be on it.

The demographic is getting older on Snapchat. Tumblr is not a new platform but people are starting to use it more and more. I saw a stat today and the numbers that I saw is Tumblr has 120,000 new accounts a day which is more than Facebook.

If you want to be ahead of your competition, you want to be first. You want to be the first mover to dominate the space that you’re in.

What is your opinion on this subject? I would love to hear from you in the comments section below. :)

--

--