Why I’m Moving to Mexico

Matt Pasienski
2 min readSep 13, 2016

--

At the end of September, I’m leaving San Francisco and moving to Guadalajara, Mexico where the company we founded in 2013, Wizeline, has a large and growing office. Guadalajara has a great mix of young engineers, UX designers and other technology professionals that has allowed us to expand quickly. As the team grows, we’re also taking on larger and more complex product development tasks.

I’ll be blogging about my move to Guadalajara; I’ll talk about what it’s like to live in a new country, and also be in an quickly evolving new startup scene. Here’s the email I sent to the team at Wizeline, follow me at @mattpasienski on Medium and Twitter for upcoming posts!

Team,

I’m moving to Mexico by the end of the month.

I was going to write an emotional email about all the reasons, but it was actually a really easy decision that took less than 5 minutes (I had to call my wife!). Here’s why it’s going to be awesome:

  • Guadalajara is going to be a major world-wide hub for technology within the next 5 years.
  • The American Dream has moved to Mexico. If you work hard in Mexico you can buy a house, have a family, and live a good life. That’s not something I can see happening in San Francisco right now.
  • I love Mexico, Mexicans, and Mexican food!

I’m really looking forward to spending the majority of my time in Mexico with frequent trips to the US for things like sales meetings, etc. There are so many cool people that have joined the company recently that I would like to see more often and learn from.

I think over the next few years thousands more people like me are going to see the amazing opportunity in Mexico. Thanks to those ex-pats who have already blazed the way — I’m excited to join all of you in Guadalajara!

Matt

Here’s me and Claire before we moved with an amazing Trump-themed cake hand made by Sara. Thanks! FYI that is a champagne machete in the box.

About me — Hi, I’m Matt. For the better part of the last decade, I’ve been working in the startup world in Silicon Valley. Areas of professional interest include Big Data, machine learning and artificial intelligence (AI), and cool consumer applications of UX and AI. When I’m not working, I love to read, eat tacos with friends and discuss the merits vs. detriments of a post-material needs society.

--

--