Social & Verification at #IJF19: 9 panels that I won’t miss

I’m heading to Perugia for the 2019 International Journalism Festival. It’s the only journalism conference that I have been attending for most of the last 6 years – not least because of all the swag. This is what I am looking forward to when it comes to social verification, OSINT and investigating the social media sphere.

Matteo Moschella
4 min readApr 3, 2019

This year’s programme is, as usual, jammed with good events. The EJC team, Valerio Bassan and Francesco Zaffarano have compiled comprehensive lists of what to do if you are interested in different themes in journalism, business and product, or social media and engagement in general.

Of course my take would be about which events on disinformation and misinformation I want to follow, with a mix of social platforms, verification and open source intelligence techniques (OSINT).

Here are the ones I will try not to miss:

Thursday

The view around Perugia is decent, I should admit. Photo taken last year

Friday

Previous keynote speakers in Perugia have always been very interesting. For example here you can see Emily Bell in 2013

Saturday

Little plug: I interviewed Joseph Cox last year in Perugia. Please ignore me and listen to his answers
  • Verification_ Quiztime: Julia Bayer and Tillman Wagner will talk about the Verif!cation Quiz Bot, or simply Quiztime, a collective of verification masters that offer anyone on Twitter a great sounding board for your skills. Read more about the quiztime here. Disclaimer: I have had a lot of conversations online and IRL with Julia Bayer and Jochen Spangenberg and I recently had the chance to spend some time in Deutsche Welle’s offices in Berlin and Bonn. You should check out what DW Innovation does.

These are just some of my highlights, still plenty of events I have not included for time reasons— I will properly study the programme and the list of speakers on the flight. Have I missed something huge? Any other good recommendations I should link to? Please feel free to drop them on Twitter.

Most of my calendar will be on verification and automation like SAM does. By the way, if you are interested to know what we are and do come and grab me anytime!

To conclude: netiquette

This is slightly unrelated, but recently Dr. Christine Cheng from London King’s College, posted a thread aimed at young academics attending discipline-wide conferences. I think that all of these rules could be useful for any young journalist going to Perugia.

Caveat: I will be in Perugia only from Thursday afternoon to Sunday morning, so apologies to the other great events/speakers I was not able to include.
Tip: most events from this year’s festival are streamed online and can be seen on the online archive. Arrivederci!

--

--

Matteo Moschella

Reporter at NBC News | Team HacksHackers London | Formerly Reuters, Storyful et al. | Here for things I want to know more about