2017 Q3 and Q4 Personal Goals Check In

Matthew Marshall
3 min readDec 28, 2017

--

See: 2017 Review

Main 2017 goals

Relationships

  • I will go deeper in current relationships and focus on core 5 friends.

This had the best progress out of any of my goals. New friends in SF and spending more time with old friends. I’m looking forward to travel with friends in 2018.

  • I will put more focus on dating :)

More time needed here.

  • I will have a spirit of hospitality.

I love this goal and it’s given me comfort knowing that it’s become a part of how I think and act. A couple highlights were hosting the New Story team over for Thanksgiving (a team effort), hosting a boys night, and be able to host friend who came into town.

Mental and Learning

  • I will write more to distill my thoughts and internalize my learnings.

I wrote three public pieces (Deliberate Focus to Learn from Our Team, Quit Your Day Job and Avoid The Technology Octopus). Overall, I feel like a stronger writer however I do not have a habit yet of writing consistently.

  • I will read from a select group of authors (like Jason Fried) and preeminent sources to learn and get better.

Reading from a select of group of author was successful however my overall reading level did not improve that much. I will look to audio books to help.

  • Establish small “advisory group” to challenge, teach, and guide me.

Progress! I’ve had one super smart person join as a Product Advisor to New Story.

Health/Fitness

  • Eat more.

I ate more but I’m still looking for more of a system here. Our new office having a kitchen will help a ton.

  • Hire personal trainer.

Great progress with my personal trainer. While travel messed this up I was much more consistent in my workout routine.

Highlights from Q3

  • New Story retreat at Arnold, CA and chopped challenge
  • Playing spike ball with Jake, Jonathan, Richard, Oliver and Sergie in Golden Gate
  • West coast swing with Oliver and the Reality SF social dance club
  • CG Leadership training with Oliver and Rachel
  • Climbing with Richard at mission cliffs and then tacos with Oli, Brook, and Richard
  • Izu Ramen dinner then Souvla frozen yogurt and then Verdi club where Richard, Oliver, Melissa and I danced until 1:30am with our new friends Kate and Emily. So incredibly fun.
  • Working out with Josh at Yubalance
  • Dinner at brewery with my good friend Daryan
  • Interfaith Shabbat Dinner in SF
  • Floating down the American river
  • Late night dancing at Baobab with GSIH crew
  • Dinner with Philip Winter
  • Car camping with Oli, Jake, Ariella, Melissa and Sarah at Lake Concow near Oreville, CA
  • Escape the room with the New Story team
  • Chilling at Mt Tam with Gemma and Melissa
  • Flying home to surprise my parents in Georgia. Took the bus from Atlanta to Athens and stayed with Kevin, Jen, and Lily.
  • Exploratorium with Ross + seeing Christina + Lers Ros Thai restaurant
  • Lands end with Ross + chat with John and burrata + dinner with Ross and Oliver at Straw + ice cream
  • Yosemite with Ross
  • Lunch in Dolores with Ross + Dandelion chocolate desert
  • Johnny Grant visiting SF + CG trivia night (our name: team average)
  • Bus Stop watching the UGA v Notre Dame game with Oliver, Neerav and others
  • Dinner with Barrett, Neerav at La Fusion
  • Helping build wateringminds.org
  • Dinner with Josh, Amy and her friend at Salt House
  • Morgan + Will’s wedding in Clarksville, Ga with Alysse, Fern, Ross, and Christina
  • French Legion honoring Granddaddy Ace at the Georgia Capital
  • Celebrating Mom’s surprise bday
  • New Story dinner at Polar Notion over Antico

Highlights from Q4

  • Q4 New Story retreat on Lake Arrowhead, GA
  • Amazing New Story Night/Gala in Atlanta
  • Point Reyes with Mac, Nathan, and Oliver
  • Bluegrass at Lucky Horseshoe + Nute’s thai food with Mac and Nathan
  • Boys night cooking pizza, whisky sours and Nintendo NES
  • New Story vision trip to El Salvador
  • Content collection with Adam Mason in El Salvador
  • Building the Survey tool with App and Flow team
  • Watching UGA games at the Bus Stop with Josh and Amy
  • Thanksgiving with family in Eatonton and climbing the tree/playing football with Bowen, Rose, and Parker.
  • UGA beating Auburn in the SEC championship.
  • Community group giving winter kits to the homeless in the mission
  • Moving to new office in Fidi
  • Haiti Labodrie Video + Move ins with Joanne, Mary Eliza, and Zac from Friendly Human
  • Christmas in Eatonton
  • Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA

--

--