Q1 Personal Goals Check In

Matthew Marshall
2 min readApr 9, 2017

--

Main 2017 goals

Relationships

  • I will go deeper in current relationships and focus on core 5 friends.

Good progress. While this is hard to measure, I can definitely feel the improvement here. To continue to improve I will be more deliberate about establishing time to spend with these people.

  • I will put more focus on dating :)

Minimal progress. More focus needed.

  • I will have a spirit of hospitality.

Good progress. Upcoming hospitality things: helping prepare for Passover dinner, hosting Easter lunch.

Mental and Learning

  • I will write more to distill my thoughts and internalize my learnings.

Minimal progress. While I set a time during the week to write, other things take priority. I have been able to write more internally, but I would like to share those writings as well. One tool that has helped me write more is Bear. I’m setting up a recurring reminder in slack to remind me to write.

  • I will read from a select group of authors (like Jason Fried) and preeminent sources to learn and get better.

Very good progress. I’ve been able to read Jason Fried’s book Getting Real. Incredible read. Jason Fried on Medium is great too. I’ve also read more from Seth Godin. Will continue my current system.

  • Establish small “advisory group” to challenge, teach, and guide me.

No progress here. I honestly forgot about this goal. I’m setting time now to brainstorm through this.

Health/Fitness

  • Eat more.

Progress, but would like to consume more calories. Snacks are critical for this. I’m setting a recurring reminder in slack to grab snacks.

  • Hire personal trainer.

Fail, fail, fail.

Highlights from Q1

Haiti content trip with Beautiful destinations team and Reuben

Tahoe with the New Story team for Annual Retreat

Camping with Community Group in Napa

Hiking with Andrew James and Nate Tippie at Mount Tam. Ending our hike in the dark.

Heartbreaking super bowl Falcons lose

Skiing Heavenly with Eliza and Alexis in Tahoe

Smithgall Woods for Family Reunion

Dinner and Hamantash cookies with Melissa, Naomi celebrating Purim

Photography class

Joanne joining the New Story team

El Salvador Quarterly Retreat with team

New Story talk at Georgia Southern

Talking to High School students at my old high school

Excited for Q2

Launching mobile app for our local partners at New Story

Hosting Easter Lunch

Backpacking trip to Lost Coast trail

Portland for camping trip

Social Impact Leadership trip to Nicaragua

New Design for New Story’s Admin Platform

Friends Wedding in South Georgia

--

--