KAHOOT Study Tool

Matthew Saccomanno
4 min readDec 8, 2017

--

KAHOOT

Kahoot

For those who have never used the software, kahoot is an online browser based tool that allows people to create interactive quizzes. The process for creating a kahoot is very easy to learn, and is accessible to everybody, as the platform is available on mobile devices running iOS and Android, as well as through any desktop browser. Overall I have been thoroughly impressed with the software, and would highly recommend it to any person wanting to engage in interactive learning.

User Experience

I have used Kahoot as a student in a classroom and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience of competing with classmates to win first place. I tend to learn much more effectively when it is in a more relaxed teaching style, like the kahoot system, and would really enjoy teachers using it more in their classes. I have also created content and participated in quizzes another quiz tool called Ombea. This more sophisticated system provides users with a better experience, but carries a significant cost for the receiver and clickers required to interact with the questions. I have never created a Kahoot personally and was excited to try out the software.

Creator Experience

Having never used Kahoot’s creation site before, I was intrigued by how easy it would be to create a quiz. I would consider myself a very technical person, having built my own PC, and worked in a technical internship over the summer. The process should be easy for me, but what is most important is that it would be easy for every person to use, as you would hope all people of different technological skill levels would use this platform. I can confirm that the process is extremely easy.

Step One: Create an account

I chose to create an account with my email, as I would prefer to limit the amount of data Google records of me. It is a nice feature that they have built into their website though, allowing people the convenience of one-click registration. The process of registering through email however was very straightforward.

Step Two: Initial Quiz Setup

Once an account has been created, you are ready to create your first quiz. The user interface utilizes simple text boxes and dropdown menus for the initial setup of the quiz, including naming, adding a photo and description, and allowing the user to choose who can view it. It was a very clean and simple experience.

Step Three: Adding Questions

Once the initial setup is complete, you are ready to add questions. The process is very easy. All that is required is the title of the question, four choices for the user to select, and they the user to identify which answer is the correct choice. One at this menu, the creator also has the choice to choose if they would like the answers to give the users points based on the quickness of their response, or just awarding points for choosing the correct answer. This is done by a simple checkbox. For my EID 100 final exam quiz, I chose to include timed points. Once the questions have been created, they are easily visible for you to view and modify each individual creation.

Step Four: Sharing

The process to create the quiz totaled fifteen minutes, most of which included me choosing the questions and answers I would like to include. Once the process of creating the quiz was complete, all that was left was to click the share button. A URL is provided to allow you to share the kahoot on various social media platforms for friends to participate.

The product has been created, and now it is time to play! here is a video of me taking the quiz that I created for studying the course content for my upcoming EID 100 exam.

Verdict

As a whole, I would highly recommend the Kahoot platform. It was easy to use, had a clean interface, and is accessible on all platforms. Teachers can greatly benefit from using these tools in their classroom, and add another element to learning. They can do all of this without needing to worry about the learning curve, as shown throughout this article anybody can do it.

--

--