Breaking Strange

Maya Mayhem
4 min readOct 26, 2017

Were you the one?

I really loved you. Sometimes I would just stare and reach out and touch your face and you would roll your eyes and I would laugh and say handsome and it was a little game.

And sometimes you would roll your eyes and say I loved you too much. And sometimes I did.

I remember one night I slammed our bedroom door and laid on the bed crying and you came in and sat next to me and told me that you didn’t think you could give me what I needed. You said your heart wasn’t fully in it. We still lived together then. This was so long ago. Why didn’t I just end it? I begged you to stay and you did. I accepted a love that was a little less.

And sometimes we would get drunk while making dinner and laugh ourselves silly. And sometimes we would get drunk and you would get mad because I would get wild and you would tell me you lost me and then I would yell and throw things in the street and I wouldn’t let you sleep on the couch because that wasn’t what we did.

Were you the one?

Living with you feels like a lifetime ago. Remember that studio apartment downtown? I loved it. And hated it. I felt like a stranger living there…

--

--