Tokyo: Day One

Melissa Ragsdale
4 min readNov 10, 2017

--

After living in New York City for three years, I thought I had the number on big cities. But here’s the thing about Tokyo: it’s quiet. There is no shouting or honking — traffic goes by with a smooth hush. Even the construction is polite. When you walk through the streets of, say, midtown Manhattan, you’re greeted with chaos and hustle, you feel rushed. But here, even when there is a lot of people, the foot traffic flows with grace. You can catch people’s conversations from fifteen feet away, you can hear the click-click-click of bicycle wheels as they pass you.

The exception is music. Especially in Shibuya, there have been lots of buildings playing music into the street. As I was walking back this evening, I was pleasantly surprised by some sort of lovely chime melody that all of a sudden filled the streets around me. (Oh, and I also got rick rolled about four times by the same Taylor Swift bus that was playing a music video of that stupid “Look What You Made Me Do” song over and over again on the side. I have no idea what that was about, but I hated it.)

Morning walk.

Here are a few more random city things that I’ve found interesting about Tokyo:

  • People actually wait for the crosswalk signs to tell them to go. Even if the street is tiny and isolated. Even if there are no cars anywhere. After living in NYC, this is so unnerving.
  • However, there are a lot of little streets that don’t have sidewalks, but have walking lanes painted onto the asphalt. In these cases, it appears that it’s acceptable to walk in the middle of the street at will, even if there’s a car trying to make its way through.
  • People bike on the sidewalks here. (Which honestly, makes me much more keen on renting a bike.)
  • Seven Elevens are everywhere. What’s up with that??
  • I don’t think I’ve seen a single piece of trash anywhere.
  • There are tons of beautiful trees lining the sidewalks, and right now they’re showing their fall colors. It’s gorgeous.
  • Tokyo actually reminds me a lot of London, in both its pace and design. Except, you know, less British.
Takeshita Street

After getting in last night, I started off my day today by walking two hours from my hostel in Taito to Takeshita in Shibuya. As I headed out, people were on their way to work, strolling calmly through the streets in their business suits. It felt good to walk with them, like we were all waking up and beginning the day together.

I made it to Takeshita, where I found a little bit more of the bustle that I was expecting. Takeshita is a street filled with little shops selling tchotchkes, clothes, fancy desserts, and other quirky items. Tons of fun sparkly bullshit to browse, and I do love sparkly bullshit.

Then I made my way into the Meiji Shrine, which felt like leaving the city entirely. Huge trees rose up around me as I (and a smattering of tourists) followed routes paved with dirt, stopping every so often to take in the various exhibits and displays. The air was cool and imbibed with the fresh scent of pine. It was peaceful, refreshing.

“Sake Barrels Wrapped in Straw” in the Meiji Shrine

I was starting to get hungry, so I made my way to Genki Sushi, which was freaking awesome. It’s completely designed for solo diners. You order your food off of a touch screen, and then a little train comes along with your order on it. Zero human interaction, with the exception of paying the bill at the end. It was everything I’ve ever wanted.

The rest of the day was more walking and wandering. I made my way through Shibuya, checked out the lovely Yoyogi Park, took the train into Chidoya, then back to my hostel in Taito. I know to some people that would sound grueling, but I love getting the feel of a city under my feet. When you walk, especially when you’re on your own, you can really get intimate with a place, taking in all of its sights, sounds, and smells. It feels like making a new friend.

Back at the hostel now to get some work done and give my feet a rest. This adventure is off to a great start!

--

--