Chingu FCC Speedrun Challenge: Tribute Page

Amir Fakheraldeen
Chingu FCC Speedrun
2 min readMay 8, 2017

The Chingu FCC Speedrun Challenge is a challenge to complete as many of the FreeCodeCamp projects as possible in one month, introduced by P1xt. I’ve decided to start the challenge after joining the Chingu cohorts, and just got started yesterday on the tribute page project, the first project in the FCC curriculum.

To begin with, as denoted in the GitHub repo of the challenge, I had to choose a stack for all of the projects. I decided to use Vue.js in order to get some experience with modern front end frameworks, along with SASS. As for the back end, I’ll go with NodeJS to get experience with a popular server side environment, as well as get more practice with JavaScript.

Setting up Vue.js took quite a while. In fact, it took a few hours to figure out the essential stuff for the project, so I spent most of the time yesterday setting up my development environment. I only got started with the project itself today, which took me a few hours to complete.

In particular, I got stuck trying to get SASS to compile as part of the build process. It took a ton of research and trying different Webpack configurations until it finally worked. The solution was to install the extract-text-webpack-plugin module, import it into the Webpack config file and use it to tell Webpack how to compile all SASS code in the project into one final CSS file. Here’s a link to the page where I found the solution.

Links:

--

--