Explore.Define.Become…The Person You Want to Be

Tess Brigham, MFT
3 min readOct 6, 2019

--

In the past two articles I’ve been talking about what you can do if you think you’re going through a quarter-life career crisis.

Finally, in this article we are going to talk about taking action!

Right now you may be hearing that voice in your head that says, “I don’t want to do anything. It’s too hard to look for a new job, maybe I’m not that miserable.”

There will be some discomfort involved in making a career transition. Keep your eye on the prize, which is your new career.

Don’t get overwhelmed by the task at hand. Take it step by step:

Step 1: Identify the exact position you want at the exact company, for example I want to be a “Junior Data Analyst at Schwab.” If you are unclear about the job or company, work on narrowing it down — do you want to work at a for-profit, non-profit or for the city? Do you want to work 9–5 or would you prefer a schedule that is more flexible? Remember the more specific the better.

Step 2: Now that you know more about the position you are looking for, you need to start determining what skills you need in order to be considered for this position. The best way to do this is to find a listing for the job you want and write down all the skills that are required and recommended for the position.

Step 3: Find the gaps. Look for the gaps between the skills you have now and the skills that are required for your dream position. What do you need to learn or focus on to be considered for this job? Make a “Gap” list of each skill you need to learn before you can apply for this job.

Step 4: For each gap — create a plan. For each gap (aka skill you need to learn) write an action plan. For example let’s say you need to learn Photoshop for your ideal job. Create a plan for yourself. Make a list of the steps you need to take to learn this skill. Set deadlines for yourself because that is the only way to keep you accountable.

When I decided that I was going to be a therapist, I had never taken a psychology class before. Once I did some research of local graduate schools, I realized I needed to take a few introductory psychology courses to be considered for admission.

I made a plan just like this one. I figured out the “gaps” that I needed to fill before I applied to graduate school. The process took me two years and I worked a bunch of so-so jobs to pay the bills but I was prepared and ready to go when I started graduate school.

One of my favorite comments I get when I make these kinds of suggestions to a client who is going through the quarter-life career crisis is, “but if I go through all of this and figure out what I really want to do, I won’t be doing it until I’m 30!”

I always say, “Yes that’s true but you know what…you will be 30 regardless of what you do.”

This crisis is a good thing. This is your wake up call to find the life and work that you love and will provide meaning to you. Don’t worry, you will figure it out. I did and you will too.

In the comments below tell me what is the first step you plan to take!

--

--

Tess Brigham, MFT

Therapist & Coach for Twentysomethings | Grab my FREE guide to kicking ass in your 20s here! https://www.tessbrighamcoaching.com/kicking-ass/