Surface should be more modular

Michael Gillett
My Microsoft Life
Published in
2 min readJan 10, 2017

Right now there are two Surface devices available to buy, the Surface Pro 4 2-in-1 and the Surface Book laptop. Both devices feature touchscreens, a Pen and a detachable screen. The Pro’s screen offers a kickstand but the Book’s doesn’t although it is larger and can offer a lot more performance, but otherwise they are very similar devices. I think there is no need for that to be the case.

Wouldn’t it be great if there was just one Surface device, the screen with a kickstand. Alongside this device would be available accessories, a Type Cover and Performance Base, for example. It could even come in a couple of sizes depending on people’s need for the device.

For me the Surface line is not only an excellent demonstration of what a great PC can be like but it is also about using touch whenever and however I want. I think the Pro does a better job of this scenario than the screen of the Book and it comes down to the kickstand. If someone wants to detach the Surface Book screen they have to hold it or prop it up somehow, this problem was solved with the original Surface.

A single Surface device would become even more flexible than the current offerings. It could be a tablet, 2-in-1 and laptop all in one. The more substantial base would offer dynamic performance and battery improvements which the Book currently makes use of but the Pro can’t.

I can well imagine myself choosing the Performance Base when I know I am going to be out and about for a long time and might have a need to do some serious work. On the other hand if I wasn’t going to be using my Surface much but want a keyboard I’d just take the Type Cover with me.

This idea might also be driven from a financial need too; I want to own both a Pro and Book. If I only had to buy one device and then the accessories it would be much better for my wallet.

What do you think? Would you prefer a single Surface device and then choose which kind of keyboard/cover you’d use with it?

--

--

Michael Gillett
My Microsoft Life

Windows Insider MVP (MVP since 2012) | Lead Web Dev based in Camden, London