Vegan Avocado Coleslaw

An easy, 5-minute prep, no-cook side dish

Meg Dixon
2 min readMay 28, 2023

Here is the thing about me and cooking: I like the theory of creating dishes more than the idea of actually getting my hands dirty in the task at hand. Maybe I’m having a lazy streak?

Today, I wanted something for lunch and I didn’t want to put in a lot of effort. I have been creating vegan coleslaw for awhile now, but today I realized that I also had an avocado that needed a use.

Ingredients:

  • Vegan Mayo
  • An Avocado
  • A bag of cabbage slaw
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar

Tools

  • large bowl
  • a small bowl for sauce making
  • a potato smasher or a large spoon to use for avocado smashing
  • a tablespoon

Directions

  1. Empty the bag of cabbage slaw into a large bowl. I usually need a bowl that is one size bigger than I realize I need.
  2. Cut open the avocado, remove the seed, remove the skin, and place avocado in the small bowl. Use the potato smasher to smash the avocado into a paste.
  3. Add at least 1/2 cup of vegan mayo to the small bowl Add more as desired

--

--

Meg Dixon

Librarian & content creator. I write about literature, books, curiosities, food, libraries, and family life. Freelance writer and content creator since 2008.