Michael A. Stelzner
2 min readAug 8, 2018

--

Great read Tom. Your data seems to backup what I have noticed over the last 6 years since I have been in podcasting. I was very excited and there was pretty nice growth about 5 or 6 years ago. Then I noticed a shift that started maybe 3 or 4 years ago. I noticed the NPR style shows coming on the scene, in force. And of course Gimlet. My first concern was that people who already listened to “other” podcasts would go over to the high production shows and slow their listening of shows “like ours.” I was concerned it would send a signal to new podcasters that “you have be like those guys if you wanna get in this space, forget about it!” I also noticed a significant number of podcasting evangelists starting to “podfade,” and no one filled the gap. I started to notice my own numbers stop growing (but still be very healthy and stay that way for years) despite my other media properties growing. I started to notice less interest in podcasting sessions at my conference, less interest in podcasting articles on my site, etc. So all the data came together and made it very clear. Podcasting was not growing. We made the strategic decision to eliminate the podcasting track from Social Media Marketing World a few months ago. So what I saw happening through my lens in my industry is also happening in the entire podcasting industry it seems. And I am not sure it’s a language issue (as you suggested towards the 52). I actually think it’s a social media issue. People spend a ton of time consuming content with audio. It’s called video. And I’m sure you have access to data that shows video consumption is way up, especially on social networks. The times, they are a changing. Just my two cents. Thoughts??

--

--

Michael A. Stelzner

Founder: Social Media Examiner; host: Social Media Marketing podcast; author: Launch & Writing White Papers; committed Christian & dad. Snapchat: mikestelzner