Minimalism — it’s not like instant coffee!

ikigai_chi
6 min readApr 28, 2018
Photo by Jisu Han on Unsplash

Imagine for a moment that you have the wife, the children, the career and all the luxuries that comes with having a job. You have a mortgage (of course that means you have a house), then there’s the car, the multiple smartphones and computers, more clothes than you can wear in a lifetime and you can afford the annual holiday abroad.

Then how come you feel unhappy, discontented, lacking, stuck, lost? Don’t get me wrong, I love my wife and my children and despite the stresses and pressures of raising children and providing for a family I would not change it for the world! But there was something missing, something I just couldn’t put my finger on, I felt that I was stagnating as a person, I had achieved all I set out for in life, you know what society tells you should strive for, a well paid job with benefits, a family, a house, a car, save up a some money and then retire 40 or so years later.

Done!

Not exactly. In our consumer driven and “keeping up with the Jones’” world where we measure our success and happiness by how we appear in comparison to our others, I definitely had it all. I am not rich by any means but I could afford what I needed or what I thought I needed to be happy and successful.

No matter how many times my salary increased, how many more nice shoes and latest gadgets I…

--

--

ikigai_chi

a husband and daddy! 😍👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 civil engineer 👷 on a journey🌏 #minimalist #trader #investor