Miracles Writings
2 min readMay 27, 2024

THE AFRICAN CHILD, A BEAUTY UNSEEN.

Why do many chose to see us uncivilized?
They call us black monkeys, pathetic and evil.
We have often been associated as the Devil all because our skin is dark.

Time and time again we've wondered
What if the Devil truly is white?
I have looked up to Mom countless of times with questions sounding like a gong!
Mummy! Are we really evil just because our skin is black?
Am I a monkey? How come seeing the monkeys, I can't really relate to them yet am called a monkey
Mummy do you think I can have this privilege the white skinned has?
Can I go to school freely and become what I choose without the society deciding?
These are questions I had asked.
Even as a babe, I was forced to grow up before time.

I remember covering myself in dusting powder just to look white
Since I wasn't allowed to the park to play
Why you might ask? What crime did he commit?, you ask
I did nothing only that am black

I saw videos flying around about Children in need and the world concluded all blacks are barbarians!
They imagined we leave in a forest, surviving like wild animals and truly we were named animals!
Oh! Now I see why I was called a banboon the other day by a child my age
Of course I can do nothing, he is white!

Days go by and I keep wilting in agony
Wanting them to see the beauty in black skin
Mum called me perfect, Dad called me Strong!
Why can't they see the beauty in me?
I guess they saw but choose to ignore.
The African Child they whisper in apprehension.

I have chosen
I might not be perfect, everyone is flawed anyways
But, I will be mummy's perfect sunshine!
I will be daddy's strong willed boy!
I will be my sister's shield from the viles of the white and
I will be my beauty!

I will not wish to be white no more!
My melanin, I will cherish
I will be that little star shining bright in my onyx skin!
I will radiate the African Glory!

Proudly, I will proclaim my identity!
I am Black!
I am Beautiful!
I am Wise and Strong!
I am the Best of the Best!
I am me! An African!
A Nigerian!.

Miracles Writings
0 Followers

I am a Poet. Poems are beautiful forms of expressions. They are like windows into the soul, seeds that take root in the mind.