Preparing Your Old iPhone for Sale

Image Source: Ashok Govind

When you look at your phone and say to yourself, “it’s time to sell my iPhone and get a new one”, there are certain things that you need to take care of before someone else gets your old phone. After all, you don’t want anyone you don’t know to be able to get into your personal information. With that in mind, here are some of the things that you need to do before you sell your old iPhone.

  • Backup to iCloud — Now, you need to backup to iCloud. This is because you will need to be connected to the computer with the backup files in order to be able to restore them. When you have iCloud, you can do this from anywhere and not have to be right at your computer.
  • Backup to iTunes — The first thing you need to do is back up your files to iTunes. An iCloud backup is important, but there is only so much space, so you need to have another way to make sure that all of your files are going to be transferred to your new phone.
  • Sign Out of the iTunes/App Store — This is easy to do, and it will keep anyone from being able to go in and by songs and apps while using your information and account. Simply open the settings, tap on iTunes & App Store, tap on your Apple ID, and tap on sign out.
  • Export Contacts — The next step is to export your contacts to and from iCloud. While your contacts have already been backed up, it is nice to have that extra reassurance of having your contacts in the iCloud as well. Then, you can export them as .vcf files.
  • Delete Your Photos — Before anyone gets their hands on your old phone, delete all photos, especially photos of children because you never know who is going to be buying the phone, and there are all kinds of creeps out there will use your photos for nefarious purposes.
  • Disable Passcodes and Restriction Codes — To reset everything, you can do a general reset which will erase your settings and content. But, just to be safe, you should also disable any restrictions you may have set. Simply go to settings > general > Restrictions and disable Restrictions, and enter the passcode.
  • Delete Your Apps — Once the photos are all out, it is time to get rid of your apps. Yes, reset will clear them, but since it only takes a couple of minutes to delete them, it is a good idea to have that extra insurance that they are no longer on the phone. When you delete the apps, any cache that goes with those apps, as well as any personal info that the apps may have stored on the iPhone.
  • Delete iCloud Accounts — Sign out of your Apple ID account to disable all of the iCloud features on the phone. This will also temporarily disable iMessage and FaceTime, but you should also go into each account to make sure that they are indeed gone from the iPhone.
  • Delete Mail, Calendars, Reminders, Etc. — Now you need to delete the iCloud account, which will in turn delete Safari, Reminders, etc. But, just in case there is still some history there, such as page caches, lists, etc., make sure that you delete it.
  • Do a General Reset — There is just one last thing to do, and that is to clear out your Wi-fi password that is stored in the iPhone. Go into settings, tap on general, scroll down to and tap on reset, and then tap on Erase All Content and Settings and confirm. The iPhone will reset itself and reboot.