Movie Review: 1989’s “Uncle Buck”

P.M.A
2 min readAug 18, 2024

--

So, in my second weekend of continuing my “watching ’80s movies for the first time ever” marathon. This weekend, the ’80s movie of choice was, “Uncle Buck,” and this was a pretty damn good movie. It was the first time of me ever watching it and within the first few seconds, I thought, “oh this is going to be boring,” but then after five minutes, I really liked it.

I loved that actor John Candy brought all the charm and humor and that Macaulay Culkin brought the adorable child charm. What I didn’t like was character, Tia Russell, her “teen angst” attitude left me wanting to punch her in the face. However, the film was really great, there were great nuggets of moral lessons within the story and it didn’t have the “woke, PC garbage” that’s thrown in the faces of movie-watchers today, which was great. To me, it felt like a family film, what family films used to be. I did feel that it was kind of a short film, compared to the one hour and fifty to two hour films that I’m used to but maybe one hour and forty minutes was all that was needed to tell a heartwarming story of family and friendship. Uncle Buck did leave me longing to go back to the days of the ’80s, when things made sense in the world and the world was a lot more comfortable, living wise.

So, all in all, I’d give this film: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

--

--

P.M.A

Former screenwriter/filmmaker, soon-to-be author, living on the east coast, living each day as if it's my last.