The first step on my path was a doozy

Moira Shepard
3 min readMar 30, 2023

--

How a negative experience led to positive change.

Smiling woman at top of mountain
Photo by Jonas Verstuyft on Unsplash

Let me tell you about the first decisive step on the path I now follow with joy and gratitude.

It was a doozy.

I thought it was the worst thing that ever happened to me, at the time.

Today, I’m thankful for it.

How did I get from grumbling to gratitude?

I’ll share the story with you in this short (3min3sec) video.

If you’d like to read the story, scroll down a bit and you’ll find it.

Enjoy, my friend!

My Gratitude Story: Challenged to Change

Here’s the story:

Challenged to Change

“When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.” ~ Viktor Frankl

My life turned upside down on March 31, 1997 when I hurt my back on the job.

I spent the next seven years in bed with chronic pain and a sense of peace.

That’s because my worries about a dead-end job, low bank balance, and selfish boyfriend melted away, replaced by simpler problems.

I had to decide each morning whether to shower or eat breakfast — I could do one or the other but not both …

Whether have lunch before or after the 11 a.m. rerun of “Perry Mason” …

Whether I needed two painkillers to sleep through the night, or if one would do the job.

Eventually, a miraculous healing got me back on my feet and led to the life I enjoy now.

Was it worth seven years of my life to gain what I have?

Yes.

I’m grateful for that time in bed. It taught me that it’s okay to ask for help. That’s huge.

And I’m grateful for the wonderful friends and meaningful work I have today.

So, many thanks to the angel who kissed me on the spine that day at work and said, “Baby girl, you’re out of here!”

Thank you for your kind attention. I am so grateful to you, and for you.

Take care, until we meet again.

3 girlfriends hugging
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

If you enjoyed this story, remember to clap 👏🏽 it up and leave a response!

It’s one of many heartfelt essays in the 2023 edition of Community Book Project: 365 Days of Gratitude. These stories will make you laugh, cry, and feel grateful to be alive. You’ll find the book here on Amazon. I hope you enjoy it, my friend.

I’m all about helping you to develop the confidence you need to share your message and make a difference. Start by picking up my top three tips for confidence on the fly at www.FreeConfidenceTips.com

Thank you for subscribing to my content. Use it to build up faith in yourself so you can share yourself and your talents with confidence — and have fun doing it!

--

--

Moira Shepard

I’m all about helping you to develop the confidence you need to share your message and make a difference. Get my top 3 tips at www.FreeConfidenceTips.com