Moira Scicluna
2 min readMay 27, 2018

Last Friday I started turning parts of my illustration into paths on Illustrator. At first I considered laser cutting each part of the illustration, however like this I risked having a very plastic-y result, so I decided to keep the wall and floor as a printed texture, so it looks like an illustration came to life, rather than being an entirely laser-cut object.

Initial idea of turning the illustration to a layered object.

Here I had to re-flatten the concept sketch to figure out how many layers I need to laser-cut. I definitely want the waves to be laser cut, the outline of the figure to be transparent, with the pattern ‘reflected’ from the floor being a separate layer. The shadow on the floor will also be a separate layer.

A better sketch of the flattened layout. Here I considered having additional layout for the floor and the walls, but I realised I will lose the texture, so decided against this in the end.

Present path-process. I’ve kept a bit of texture on the path for the figure and shadow, but didn’t manage to get a good textured-path result for the waves. I might try an alternative on Monday.

Moira Scicluna

Edinburgh-based Illustrator / Graphic Designer. This blog is focused on my research on Creative Maltese abroad, funded by Art Council Malta.