Centre Stage: Why I Write

James Molloy
3 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Hi there,

This week I would like to discuss why I write and why I enjoy connecting with each of you through the ‘medium’ of writing.

When I am writing something like this, I feel a strong connection with those who may take the time to open the link and read the article. So I imagine what it would be like to read the article from the reader’s point of view and ask myself if it would be something that I would like to read myself.

The most important thing to me when I sit down to write an article for the week is knowing that someone is choosing to read what I have written, and it is important to me I make my post worthy of the time spent reading it. I strive for each post to be entertaining, occasionally informative, and always engaging. I also realise that not everyone wants to spend too much time reading on their phone, so my posts need to be concise — something I struggle with as I like to go on long-winded rants when the occasion calls for it.

I know from previous experience the importance of showing up consistently every week and being here with a post when it is expected, without taking too much time between posts if I ever cannot post on any particular week for one reason or another. Consistency is essential to me this time around, as I took a lot of time between posts in the past and it never really worked for me.

It also feels great when I receive engaging comments back when a post of mine moved someone enough to want to open a dialogue with me about that article. I love getting the chance to talk to those who read my content and discuss what they liked, or sometimes, didn’t like about it and take that feedback onboard.

On a personal note, I also like to write here as it gives me an outlet to express opinions that I rarely say out loud. So having you here listening to me when I have something to say feels very validating, and when I say I really appreciate you taking the time to come here and read what I have to say, I mean it. I truly do. Writing has always been a way for me to express myself and is the main reason I can picture myself doing this for years, as long as there are people willing to read and listen to what I have to say. So I really appreciate you for that.

In closing, I hope you enjoyed this article. It was a pleasure to share why I write and share why my readers are so important to me. Thank you for taking the time to read this. I hope it proved worth your time.

If you would like to hear more from me in the future, you can always click that little follow button to hear more from me. You can also click one of the links below to catch up on my weekly newsletter or connect with me on social media!

Until next time,

James.

Join My Email List

Don’t miss out on exclusive content! Join my email list to receive the latest updates, contests, and bookish events directly to your inbox.

Buy Me A Coffee?

Your donation of a simple cup of coffee fuels my efforts and provides the essential caffeine boost needed to continue my work. Every contribution is greatly appreciated!

www.buymeacoffee.com/MolloyWrites

Connect On Social Media

Join me on social media?

Facebook

Instagram/Threads

Twitter/X

TikTok

--

--

James Molloy

32-year-old Writer and Author of Wednesday’s Child, from Ireland. Journalism graduate of the University of Limerick.