To The Bone.

monetta rudolph
4 min readJul 19, 2017

--

To The Bone is a beautifully written, raw and real take on illnesses. Written and directed by Marti Noxon, it stars Lily Collins and Keanu Reeves. This movie was released on Netflix on July 14, 2017. If you have not yet seen it, I highly recommend.

A young girl, Ellen, struggles with anorexia nervosa. Anorexia nervosa is an eating disorder characterized by weight loss or lack of appropriate weight gain in growing children (National Eating Disorders). Her life becomes intertwined with an unconventional doctor and a home to six other patients. Ellen’s journey through in-patient treatment is far from easy.

Watching Ellen’s story along with the rest of the characters’ development made me aware of the challenges of mental illnesses and seeking out help. I remember when I was in middle school (about seven years ago) we were constantly talking about body image; what the magazines said, movie star looks, and eating disorders. There were lectures, assemblies, and sections of health class devoted to the topic. It was an incredibly big deal. At times, I wished that I could stop eating and lose the weight. Two things stopped me, I knew that it would only lead to a more unhealthy lifestyle, and two, to be completely honest I always want to snack. A few months ago I caught myself thinking about middle school and the talk of eating disorders, comparing it to my sibling’s education. I looked towards the media, as well. Social media has changed these past several years. We now have Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter, Facebook, you name it. There are so many open resources to posting pictures and writing opinions. With all these outlets, it seems that there would be more attacks on “fat people”. Just looking back a few years ago, magazines aimed at the “quick fixes” to losing weight and what to do to your man. Focusing on the famous Cosmopolitan magazine, I looked back at the covers from 2010 (seven years ago already, weird.) to today’s cover.

“Judging a book by its cover” I see that SEX is all over. Obviously, this is a Cosmo magazine. Cosmopolitan is all about women’s fashion, sex, and gossip. I remember how cool I felt to read a magazine that advertised sex on the cover page. Taking a closer look now, it’s not as cool and grown-up as I thought. “Inhaled the Whole Pizza?” umm… yes, I did. Sorry? Actually no, not sorry at all. It was pretty damn good. The term “pig-out” gives a negative connotation that having a pizza is a bad thing. Yes, eating about 20 pizzas in one sitting in not recommended. You know what I mean.

Miranda Lambert’s issue, seven years later, shows a difference. Yes, sex is out there in bold to grab your attention, but there’s no “perfect” look you have to achieve because of your “pig-out”. Not only do the cover change on the topic of body image, but also there’s a slight shift in a woman pleasing herself instead of doing everything for a man. I do believe that in the bedroom everyone should be doing their equal share, but hey, don’t let that “Big-O Slip Away!”

I feel that the issues and criticism in body image has grown more positive over the past several years. More social media accounts are dedicated to positivity and respect of others. There are still some out there that need to learn a thing or two about respect, but with the rising of feminism, awareness of politics and social struggles, social media has become a fantastic outlet. I wouldn’t be here today if it was for the opportunity.

I personally believe there has been less bullying over social acceptance and body images, however, To The Bone reminds viewers that eating disorders were not a fad. To this day, at least 30 million people (any age/gender) suffer from eating disorders in the U.S. (ANAD). With people suffering from eating disorders still at alarming numbers, we must not forget about how important mental health is in our lives.

Not only did To The Bone raise awareness about eating disorders, it also paints the picture of the family dynamic around someone struggling with a mental illness. I don’t wish to give the plot away to those eager to watch, but I must say, you are loved. No matter how hopeless you feel, alone and afraid. There are people who care for you and love you.

I highly recommend this movie. Lily Collins, a personal favorite of mine, did an absolutely terrific job. For those that don’t know, she also struggled with an eating disorder. I can’t image what a challenge it was to film this movie, as well as a reward. Find something you’re passionate about, take action, and send a message.

I would like to point out that the movie may trigger some viewers. There is a warning at the beginning of the movie as well.

National Eating Disorders Association 1 (800) 931–2237

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1(800)–273–8255

--

--

monetta rudolph

i believe in destiny. i believe in signs. i believe in everything happens for a reason.