Do You Care About Being Compensated for Your Work, Tony Stubblebine?

Monica Leigh French
6 min readOct 25, 2022

An interview with the CEO of Medium has me fired up

Photo by OSPAN ALI on Unsplash

I probably shouldn’t be writing while I’m angry. It would be best to take some time to cool down and then reassess the situation, but I’m the type of person who cannot stay quiet when I feel as though injustices are being perpetrated.

I read an article today by the lovely Kristina God, which I will post down below for reference.

Casey Newton interviewed Tony Stubblebine, the new CEO of Medium, and Kristina’s story highlighted a few key excerpts from the conversation. She discussed how Tony talked about moving Medium toward a place where writers are “subject matter experts.”

I decided to read the full interview so that I wasn’t taking his words out of context. I took issue with a few things that he said. Let me start by saying that I’ve been having my misgivings about Medium for a while now. I’ve been writing on this platform for eight months and I just cannot shake the feeling that Medium doesn’t appreciate its writers. I don’t feel valued…

--

--

Monica Leigh French

I’m just a girl who loves to break through stigmas by writing. I’m most inspired by politics, addiction, and mental health issues. Pink Floyd fanatic.