Boty Mor
2 min readNov 14, 2023

Hello, all! I’m here with some #prettypurplebooks today, and a review for Throne of the Fallen, which is the stunning one right in the middle. Isn’t it gorgeous? Have you read any of these beauties? I’ve got a real weakness for purple books,and I’m always pleased when one comes my way!

So, Throne of the Fallen was my first Maniscalco, but I do have the Kingdom of the Wicked series waiting on my shelves. Throne of the Fallen is set in the same world, but it’s her first adult novel, and it was a bit more adult than I was expecting! I’d describe this mostly as a dark fantasy romance. It’s very spicy, sultry and steamy, right from the word go — lots of smouldering tension, lust and descriptive dialogue.

Throne of the Fallen is centred around the Prince of Envy, who needs to win a deadly game in order to save his court. Camilla, a painter trying to live a proper life in polite society, is forced to make a deal with Envy, which will lead her on a journey through the Underworld, amongst the Princes of Sin and the Fae and Vampire courts. However Camilla has her own reasons for helping Envy, and plenty of secrets. She could do without the distraction of the very sexy, confident and arrogant Prince…

The settings are very cool here, and I think the world-building was my favourite part. I enjoyed that we started in a Regency style world, then ventured into the dark and dangerous underworld. The Game itself and finding the clues felt quite understated and I would have liked a bit more focus on this, but the attention is very much on Camilla and Envy, who have a lot of chemistry! Their connection is very much a physical one, and they enjoy challenging and goading each other. Both are bold and confident, very aware of their good looks, magnetism and sexuality, and that’s absolutely fine, it just meant this one wasn’t a perfect fit for me. I’m more of a fan of a quietly confident MC, and I like a slow burn romance. I would have liked a deeper exploration of an emotional connection between them as well as a physical one. Having said that, this one is popular! If you like Maas, Armentrout, Stone and Thalassa, get your hands on this! Big thanks to hachettenz ❤️