I Learned A Valuable Lesson From My 4-Year-Old

Cass Morrow
2 min readJan 19, 2024

--

— Cass Morrow

I Learned A Valuable Lesson From My 4-Year-Old.

The other day, I was on my computer, reviewing a chapter in my book while Kathryn was heading out.

When I heard Vale across the room saying to Briar, “That’s ok, Doo-a will play with us”.

(They call me Doo-a, not Daddy).

To which Briar responded, “No, he will probably work”.

Wow. Have I been too excited about saving marriages…

Bringing too much to talk to Mama during my time with the kids again?

I was reminded of a lesson beyond “Work-life balance” that day. Let me explain.

I’ll use 3 examples in my life of where I have failed the same way and why.

If you know me, I get shit done.

I don’t make excuses. I take responsibility. I throw no pity party.

Ex 1. I set a lot of time aside for Kathryn and my children.

Struggle for me or not, they don’t need to hear about the book, the new way to help people, the next big phase all the time.

My daughter’s comment hit me smack in the face.

They need all of me again when I’m with them.

Ex 2. I’ve done that for years with health, too. I focused on being jacked, so I worked out for 2 hours a day.

Problem is, I’m far too busy. I’m already up 3 hours before everyone.

(The right) 1 hour workouts would be better and more sustainable for me right now.

Ex 3. My purpose and company mission.

I’m so focused on my 30-year goal of flipping divorce statistics that I need to remind myself…

Exactly what men are feeling now.

Not the grand plan for them when my approach to marriage is not the “NEW” normal, but “THE” normal.

Sometimes, we forget that the steps we take minute by minute…

Day by day….

The short game…

Are less important than the view from those steps.

Where we are right now.

I was reminded by my little blonde tornadoes to evaluate myself as an action-taker.

I don’t believe this is a “balance” thing.

I’m already up early with a morning routine.

It’s not about new hires for biz.

It’s not even a priority thing.

Sometimes, we are action-takers, but PRESENCE in each action, even with less time, will win out in the end.

--

--

Cass Morrow

Disrupting Divorce and Flipping Divorce Statistics with The “NEW” Man. Download our podcast: Morrow Marriage: Apple, Spotify: YouTube, Everywhere.