How it hurts

Francisco Chibrás
3 min readJul 4, 2018

--

It hurts to know things aren’t the way they used to be. It hurts to know your relationship is slowly deteriorating. To pretend everything is perfect, while it hurts. But love is a two player game, there’s only so much one person can do. Join me in the next entry of this series: How it hurts.

How it hurts

I brought you the light of the midnight sun,

and the number after infinity

I installed ursa major in your diadem

and you stayed there as if it was nothing.

I sweetened the sea to satiate your thirst.

I rented a quarter of the waning moon,

and like a good loser I searched in bed

the things love wouldn’t give an answer to.

And how it hurts,

that you are so far away,

sleeping here in the same bed;

How much this hurts,

to have so much distance.

Even though I hear you breathe you’re hundreds of miles away.

And it hurts to love you so much.

To pretend everything is perfect while it hurts

To waste your life trying to find what has long been lost.

I destroyed all the gardens to get you flowers

I invented alchemy to stop the utopy

And I have even confused with tenderness,

the pitty with which you sometimes look at me.

It’s sad to accept the suffering.

It’s pathetic to believe that a lie

could invoke some miracle

that would make you wake up in love.

And how it hurts,

that you are so far away,

sleeping here in the same bed;

How much this hurts,

so much distance.

Even though I hear you breathe you’re hundreds of miles away.

And it hurts to love you so much.

To pretend everything is perfect while it hurts

To waste your life

Trying to find what has long been lost.

How it hurts, says songwriter Ricardo Arjona. And definitely, it does hurt a lot to known your relationship is slowly slipping away and you’re unsure on how to make it stop. Arjona has been widely criticized for his over use of paradoxes, however in this case I believe they work very well. He knows the relationship is doomed, he has tried to do everything, but the other person simply has no interest anymore. Love is a two person affair, if one isn’t interested anymore you could give them the world and you’d win nothing, if they don’t want to try.

A verse that personally resonates with me is “And I have even confused with tenderness, the pitty with which you sometimes look at me”. In his efforts to try and get back the other person’s love, he has deluded himself into thinking he is making progress, when in reality he really isn’t.

Finally, the artist resigns and accepts that he will not be able to save the relationship, and just hopes that somehow, maybe a magical being could intervene, to make her wake up in love. Obviously that won’t happen. So what do you think will happen? Will he leave the other person? Will they keep going on that way for all eternity?

What would you do?

If you liked this, don’t forget to check out the first entry, La Bikina, and to follow me on twitter and medium so you don’t miss out on new articles.

--

--