Time Warner Cable ads start showing up in Comcast’s turf

Why show me an ad for something I can’t buy?

Daniel Moskowitz
2 min readJun 18, 2014

Gearing up to watch the latest episode of The Daily Show on Hulu, a new ad caught my attention:

A Time Warner Cable ad I saw while watching Hulu. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U18uplt-nNM

Well that’s strange. An ad for Time Warner Cable services? I’m a Comcast customer, in a very Comcast-y region. I couldn’t use Time Warner Cable services even if I wanted to.

And I’m sure TWC has the ability to target their Hulu ads in such a way that this ad only gets shown to people living in areas that TWC provides service.

So why am I seeing this ad?

Sigh. It has to do with the fact that Comcast wants to buy Time Warner Cable, doesn’t it? And it’s been a bumpy ride for them, dealing with regulatory agencies along the way. Not only that, but the public’s disapproval of the companies’ services has been getting some overdue attention.

A couple of unsavory explanations start to come into focus.

First, these ads act as a friendly introduction to a company that people in my area have never had any experience with. After all, since I don’t live in a TWC region, I haven’t had the opportunity to experience their much-derided customer service, so these ads try to get ahead of the curve and into my good graces. Fair enough, I suppose.

But the second explanation is a bit more sinister. Keep in mind that the current status of the cable market is an important factor in determining whether their merger should be allowed to happen. Is the market healthy? Is there adequate competition? Would this merger make things better or worse for consumers? The answers, unfortunately, are “no,” “no,” and “worse.”

But these ads imply a different reality: they provide the illusion of competition. Viewers of these ads might not be aware of the failings of the cable market, and might infer that Time Warner Cable is an actual alternative they could choose over Comcast. But it’s not true. You’re stuck with the one cable provider that services your area. The real purpose of these ads is to obfuscate this fact. By showing ads of products and services to consumers who cannot purchase them, Comcast’s and Time Warner’s aim is to make these consumers believe the cable market is healthier than it actually is.

Unlisted

--

--