June 2016 Community Newsletter: Learning & Making

This is an archived newsletter from June, 2016.

The Learning Portfolio Project.

The Learning Portfolio Project

As you learn and teach the web, consider documenting your experience and work online with a learning portfolio!
 
learn·ing port·fo·li·o (noun): online, multimedia collection of work including research, examples of other’s inspirational work, finished pieces, reflections on the work’s process.
 
 The Learning Portfolio Project is a collaboration between the DreamYard Project and Parsons School of Design. Learning portfolios are incredibly adaptable and can work both in and out of schools for educators and students. They serve as both a way to participate and share on the web, but also as a learning tool to think through your work’s process and create an online resource for others. This featured project provides guidelines and best practices for creating learning portfolios, including how to organize and contextualize the content, as well as how to publish and share with different audiences.
 
 The Learning Portfolio project is funded in part by Hive Digital Media Learning Fund in The New York Community Trust.
 
Learn More.

Teach the Web Upcoming Events

National Writing Project
 Tuesday, June 7 4pm PT/ 7pm ET: Join educators from the National Writing Project, The LAMP and Mozilla for a webinar to look at a range of youth creations and learn more about the free, open, online, tools and resources that they are using to make and disseminate their own media. Follow
 #2nextprez for the corresponding live tweet chat! Join the Webinar.
 
 Mozilla Curriculum Workshop
 Thursday, June 16 9am PT/ 12pm ET/ 4pm GMT/ 5pm UTC: This month, the Mozilla Curriculum Workshop is broadcasting LIVE from London! Join this special edition episode as co-hosts Chad Sansing & Amira Dhalla talk shop with drop-in guests and MozFest organizers. Find out more.
 
Games for Change Festival
 June 23–24: Mozilla Hive NYC is partnering with the 13th annual
Games for Change Festival, which includes workshops and talks from a cross-section of thought leaders from academia, government, gaming, edtech, and social innovation. This year’s Festival features three tracks of programming: Games for Learning, Health & Neuroscience, and Civics & Social Issues. Register for the event.
 
Mozilla Learning Community Call
Wednesday, June 29: Join the monthly Mozilla Learning Community Call at 1pm PT / 4pm ET / 8pm UTC to discuss Summer learning and making.
 
Mozilla Tweet Chat
Thursday, June 30: Follow @MozLearn for details about our upcoming tweet chat.
 
Mozilla Club Office Hours
 Thursday, June 30: Interested in starting a Mozilla Club? Join us during
Office Hours on the last Thursday of each month at 10am ET/ 3pm UTC/ 4pm CET/ 8:30pm IST via hangouts.

Announcements

Intermediate Web Literacy II: Storytelling with Scripts
  • Introducing Intermediate Web Literacy II: Storytelling with Scripts. Through this new module, learners will understand how different elements of a webpage can work together with JavaScript to show off their creativity and storytelling. Try it today!
  • Learn more about the Digital Skills Observatory, which looks at the impact of digital skills on the usage of Digital Financial Services in Kenya. Testing various teaching and delivery methods, the study aims to understand the skills people need to develop confidence and agency with their smartphones.
  • Mozilla is pleased to announce the nine grant award recipients in Kansas City and Chattanooga that will receive funds from the Gigabit Community Fund. Learn more here.
  • In addition to the breakfast taco, 300 days of annual sunshine, and bats galore, Austin, Texas is the newest home of Mozilla’s Gigabit Hive. Austin was chosen because of its citywide digital inclusion plan, active developer community, and networked informal education landscape. Learn more.
  • The Mozilla Science Lab will launch their 2nd annual application for Science Fellowships on June 6th: 10-month-long, fully-funded opportunities to invest in open source and open science as a researcher. We welcome applicants across the physical and natural sciences who have an interest in exploring how the open web, open data, and open access complements their work. You can read about our current fellows here , and check out science.mozilla.org for updates on June 6th!
  • The first cohort of Ford-Mozilla Open Web Fellows is graduating! Over the last ten months, six technologists collaborated with civil society organizations around the world. With their host organizations, the fellows trained human rights defenders about secure communications, built tools to promote respectful online engagement (Code of Conduct Builder), activated people to stand for open Web policies during the US Presidential election (Internet2016), and more. We’ll be publishing lessons learned from year one and announcing our year two cohort shortly. Please stay tuned!
  • In an effort to streamline our channels and increase effectiveness for web literacy work across the globe, teach.mozilla.org has been updated to learning.mozilla.org and @MozTeach is now @MozLearn. Our resources, activities, teaching kits, and community have not changed. You can learn more here.

Community Spotlight

Yousef running Firefox Student Ambassadors session at 2013 Summit in Brussels. Photo provided by Yousef.

Learning and making looks different for everyone. For Yousef Alam, it’s all about volunteering! Yousef has been a volunteer and Mozilla contributor since 2012, adding his skills, experience and passion for the web to many Mozilla projects — most notably MozFest and our various Discourse forums. Read more about his journey with the open web and how he is making an impact in our community. Find out more.
 
Have questions, comments, or just want to join in the discussion?
We’re easy to contact:

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.