Scripting Blog 6

philip
3 min readMay 3, 2016

--

This week I’m going to talk about my assignment game that I’m doing.

The game I’m wanting to make is a farming game where you also need to protect your farm against enemies. I also want to have resource in the game that you need to have for you farm to work and produce money.

The resource I’m going to use is water so you need to place a well in your game that gives you water to the farms. I want to make it like in Sim City where there are some spots on the map that provides more water and the further away you place your well from that spot you get less water.

I also want to have a building where you can recruit units like in Warcraft or other RTS games and I also only want it to be one unity at a time not armies like in the Total War games.

In the game I want to have enemies that attack your farms and units and I only want them to come from one direction so in the game you need to build a blockade of units and buildings to defend your farms.

The squares are suppose to represent your farms in the game and the lines mountains so you need to defend the only way in to your farms.

I also want you to be able to upgrade your farms so they get bigger and consume more water but you will make more money of them. I can see a problem being that when you upgrade them your buildings get bigger and they might start to interfere with other game objects close by.

I also want to have one melee and one ranged unit in the game and I want them to behave like in most other RTS games, I want my ranged unit to have less health but have more range and similar damage and I want my melee unit to have more health but really low attack range.

The theme of the game is that you are a weed farmer and you need to defend your farms against soldiers and police. I have a lot of different mechanics that I want to implement such as reputation so you get more money if you have a good reputation, different types of farms and different drug dealers that you can sell your weed to and get different benefits. With the time I have for working on this project I’m not sure if i will have the time to implement any of these but I will try to implement as many as possible.

Sources

Water — SimCity Wiki Guide — IGN. (2016). IGN. Retrieved 12 May 2016, from http://au.ign.com/wikis/simcity/Water

--

--