Birthday Reflection on Life at 23

Tam Pham
15 min readNov 28, 2018

2018 for me has been full of excitement, adventure, and peace in that order. A good friend of mine described me as transitioning from a naive and wide-eyed boy to an old Asian dad. I agree with her.

Every year on my birthday, I look back and reflect on how much I’ve changed (past editions here: 22, 21, 20). Where to start this year?

Digital Nomad life

I packed a small suitcase and bought a one-way ticket to South Africa to test out the “digital nomad” lifestyle I’ve been reading all about.

My trip included 30 days in Cape Town, two separate trips to Mexico, 14 days to Atlanta, 1 week in Austin, 6 weeks in Thailand, 2 weeks in Vietnam, 2 weeks in Toronto, and two trips to SoCal to spend time with family. Oh boy!

South Africa

It felt like everything I could have wished for actually happened during my first solo international trip.

I met quite possibly the best travel friends that I will ever meet in my 20s.

We spent many mornings practicing hot yoga and eating the free breakfast (buttered croissant and orange juice) at our hostel. We went to local markets and frolicked around the botanical gardens. I got to know and dance with the lovely pole community.

We hiked South Africa’s tallest mountains during the sunrise and sunset. We explored the richest and poorest parts of the city. I threw a party at my Airbnb for 25+ friends. Every moment felt so organic and smooth.

On the flip side, I went to the hospital on day 3 for drinking tap water. I almost got mugged walking alone at night until four local citizens stepped up to my rescue. I stepped in and yelled when two guys were trying to pickpocket my friend, and they came towards me trying to start a fight, and my group made sure that I was safe. All part of the traveling experience…

But the people I met were extraordinary humans. We trusted each other so fast and had each other’s backs. I…

--

--

Tam Pham

Writer, Bachata Dancer, Chess Expert. I write about my weird, unconventional life at TamPham.co