Slammed with an Adobe Stock early cancellation fee on a “risk free” trial? Me too — and I got it reversed.

Rachel Lang
6 min readJul 28, 2016

Like most designers, I use Adobe. It’s industry standard. I have an Adobe Creative Cloud membership. I’ve always used a standard, owned version of Adobe CS before, but when I heard that Adobe isn’t supporting any version except Creative Cloud, I decided to switch. I almost never use stock photos, but for one particular project I found myself needing some. I remembered that I had seen an advertisement on my Adobe sign in for the new Adobe Stock Photos.

Seems legit.

Seems like a good deal! No indication that this isn’t a standard, run of the mill free trial. Close examination of the wording shows that there’s more info to be had here, but the wording is close enough to the standard, first month free type situation that I certainly didn’t go looking for loopholes. And to the best of my knowledge, no other information was provided to me in a clear, easy to find manner. I signed up, downloaded a few stock photos, and then forgot about it until I noticed that I was being charged $49.00 a month for my Creative Cloud membership, and $29.00 a month for my additional Adobe Stock membership.

“Oh shoot! I forgot to cancel that membership after the free month,” I thought.

--

--

Rachel Lang

Designer, seamstress, fashionista & blogger ❤ I write about creative style & fashion trends at SparklePriestess.com