Designer/Developer who made many fans with his interaction design.

Abhimanyu Kapoor
5 min readAug 17, 2018

--

Know about his work and how he makes his content viral

So let start ! what’s your background, and what are you working on ?

I’m a versatile designer and developer that specializes in interface design and animation. My background consists of a variety of roles where I’ve created everything from websites to online advertising to games. I’m currently working on a few projects: I’m redesigning the interface for a video conferencing software, I’m creating a parallax sales website with quirky animations, and I’m creating a game for mobile devices in my spare time.

What motivated you to be in this field/career ?

As a child, I was creative while also having an interest in more technical subjects. Interactive design allows me to be creative while being involved with the more technical aspects like programming.

What went into building your skill set through which you are making a living right now ?

Just a lot of years of practice and slowly learning new skills as I went along. Over time I was able to gain exposure to many different types of clients and projects, either through my various full-time jobs at agencies or on my own experimentation and attempts at learning.

How have you grown more in your field and attracted work for yourself ?

I was lucky to have one of my projects get a lot of attention online on sites like Twitter and Reddit, which has gotten me a lot of inquiries. I was able to do some cool projects that have gone well enough that they continue to work with me. Sharing your work online is a great way to advertise yourself, if people see something that they like, they may keep you in mind for a project in the future.

What are your goals for the future ?

I’d like to keep producing interesting and unique projects that others enjoy. I’m also working on a mobile game on the side that I’d like to finish up by the end of the year. I’m doing that to learn a bit about game development and the skills required to do that.

What are the biggest challenges you’ve faced and obstacles you’ve overcome? If you had to start over, what would you do differently?

The biggest challenges that I’ve faced have mostly revolved around motivation. At times I lose my motivation and have a hard time concentrating on projects because I get an idea for something new or I want to start on the next project. When you work by yourself and are in charge of the whole project from conception through final delivery, you can sometimes be working on the same thing for several months at a time. So it can get monotonous and make it easy to lose your motivation to continue. I’ve had to force myself to gradually get better and pushing through and staying focused.

Have you found anything particularly helpful or advantageous?

Social media has been very helpful for both sharing my work, but also for learning and gaining inspiration. Twitter, Dribbble, Medium, and others have been the main places where I see work that I think is inspiring and want to emulate, as well as find tutorials and learn new things.

What are your advices for users ( our community people ) who are just starting out their careers ?

Create as many projects as you can. The more repetitions you get, the better you will become and the more a skill or technology will become second-nature to you, which is when you come up with advanced and outside-of-the-box ideas. Even if you don’t have any clients, make something up on your own and do it. It doesn’t have to be anything big, the best sample projects are small and show off only a few specific skills or ideas you were trying.

How were you able to create your login screen, that every one is still talking about and is viral on social media ? ( also how did you came up with the concept, any inside on it )

https://youtu.be/EVe42XjYbx8

For the login screen, I had randomly come across a couple of primitive and simpler examples and made a mental note of how unique they were. But those examples were missing a certain something that I couldn’t put my finger on. I decided to take a shot at creating one myself, only with improved animation, since the examples I had seen didn’t appear as smooth or precise as they could have. Slowly, I was able to develop the login screen until I had a version that functioned perfectly. I was pleased with it, and thought that it might get a few comments on social media, so I shared it on Reddit and Twitter. To my surprise, it became a sensation! I don’t know how it happened, but it seems that I had simply introduced the right project at the right time. I believe the popularity of it had to do with the whimsical and emotional nature of the character, as that brought outside audiences and interest to it that wouldn’t have happened to a traditional login screen.

Where can we go to learn more about you ?

I post a lot of my work and works-in-progress to my Twitter account, which is @dsenneff. I also am on Instagram and Dribbble at the same username. My personal website is www.thedazzlingdman.com, but I admit that I haven’t updated the site for over two years, but I’m hoping to do that later this year.

Want to learn from professionals experience and ask them questions ?

You can join our newsletter where you can get to know about professionals and also ask questions just by filling this form.

Link for the form= https://goo.gl/forms/zzVYLtXXkLntTkTt2

Follow us on Linkedin, Instagram ,Twitter and Facebook

If you liked this article, please hit the clap button. You might also enjoy reading :

  1. Know how a google designer thinks and creates design for billion of users
  2. There is no age limit for doing whatever you want to do.
  3. What is Multiplier Q & A ?

--

--