#100DaysofQuatrains

A 100-day journey of 4-lined poems

Anusha Murthy
2 min readFeb 25, 2016
Photo Credit: Florian Klauer — https://unsplash.com/florianklauer

I recently came across the #100DayProject by Elle Luna and Great Discontent. The idea of it intrigued me as I had a look at the various 100DayProjects that people had accomplished around the world.

Like all ideas, I toyed with it, flirted with it, until I decided it was the one for me.

I’ll be writing 1 quatrain, every day, for 100 days.

A quatrain is a four-lined stanza/poem. Simply put, a Haiku + 1.

Sounds simple isn’t it? Except, it isn’t!

If there’s something that all the 8356 productivity and habit-forming articles taught me, it’s that for a habit to form; a prompt is essential.

Waiting throughout the day for inspiration to strike me, might end up like all other writing efforts of mine: Crash landing before taking off.

So, I’ve decided to Unsplash it.

Unsplash is a website full of beautiful, free stock images. What started off as a side project for Crew, has now grown into their major traffic referrer. In fact, it literally saved their startup from dying. A faithful lover of Unsplash, I tag photos to help people find the right photos.

With one image from Unsplash as a prompt every day, I’ll (hopefully)come up with a decent quatrain.

Follow this space if you would be interested in this journey of mine :)

--

--

Anusha Murthy

Product @ Nymble | Previously, Research Fellow @ Food Innovation Program on a global mission to research the Future of Protein.